Stuart McNair

Alabama football team featured in national championship parade and trophy ceremony

The Alabama football team that won 12 consecutive games to win the 2015 national championship was honored Saturday with a parade and presentation of trophies

Although references were made to Alabama’s extraordinary success in winning four national championships in the past seven years, Crimson Tide Football Coach Nick Saban emphasized that on Saturday morning in a parade and ceremony at Bryant-Denny Stadium that it was a day to honor the 2015 Bama team.


Bitter weather did not discourage a huge crowd of supporters, most waiting at the stadium Walk of Champions for the short parade to end. In the ceremony Alabama captains (Ryan Kelly, Reggie Ragland, Jacob Coker, and Heisman Trophy winner Derrick Henry) accepted the Cotton Bowl championship trophy, the Southeastern Conference championship trophy, the crystal football awarded to the nation’s number one team as the national champions in the Coaches Poll, and the College Football Playoff national championship trophy.


Nick Saban called his fourth Alabama team to win a national championship “special” and “unique,” a team that successfully negotiated a trial of “12 elimination games” after losing the third game of the year to Ole Miss.


Bama topped it off “by coming from behind in the national championship game,” the Tide defeating previous number one and undefeated Clemson, 45-40.


He said this is a team that provides memories for players, coaches, and fans that will last forever, just as Alabama’s previous 15 national championship teams have.


96 Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE

Following Alabama’s first national championship team under Saban in 2009, the coach promised, “This is not the end. This is the beginning.” That has certainly been true. On Saturday he thanked the fans for their support in what has gone before “and what we will accomplish in the future.”

BamaMag Top Stories