A.P. Steadham

Academy’s Theodore Roosevelt Meritorious Achievement Award Goes to Dr. E. Gaylon McCollough former Alabama Football Star

Press release provided by the United States Sports Academy DAPHNE, Ala. – Internationally renowned surgeon, Dr. E. Gaylon McCollough, was honored with the United States Sports Academy’s 2015 Theodore Roosevelt Meritorious Achievement Award for the great contributions he has made in sport and medicine.

The Academy’s Theodore Roosevelt Meritorious Achievement Award is presented annually to an individual in any amateur or professional sport, past or present, who has excelled as a contributor to both sport and society over at least a decade.

The University of Alabama (UA) 1965 honors graduate served as an offensive center for the Crimson Tide football team under coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, where he was named to the All-American Team in 1964. He turned down a promising football career with the Dallas Cowboys to pursue a medical career. However, while in medical school, on weekends he played for the Atlanta Falcons development franchise and earned “All-Pro” Honors.

He later became a confidant of Coach Bryant’s as one of his doctors. In his book, “The Long Shadow of Coach Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant,” McCollough lays out a set of leadership principles extrapolated from Bryant’s coaching style.

Dr. McCollough continues to support his alma mater to this day in the fields of sport and medicine. Last year, he established the Susan & Gaylon McCollough A-Club Career and Leadership Development Center on the UA campus, an effort to support students in life after sports. The McCollough Medical Scholars Forum was also established by Dr. McCollough and his wife, Susan McCollough, to prepare UA students pursuing medical and health science professions for the road ahead.

In 1975, Dr. McCollough founded the McCollough Plastic Surgery Clinic in Gulf Shores, Ala. Since then he has obtained international recognition as a surgeon and teacher. He is an Alabama physician, the president of the McCollough Plastic Surgery Clinic, and the founder of the McCollough Institute for Appearance and Health in Gulf Shores, Ala.

Dr. McCollough has participated in many educational seminars where he taught the science of facial plastic surgery to surgeons around the world. He has traveled to India, Columbia, Germany, England, Canada, Italy, Mexico, Australia, South Africa, Spain, The Netherlands, Switzerland, and Turkey to teach.

Being recognized for his achievements is not a first for Dr. McCollough, as he is also listed in “America’s Top Plastic Surgeons,” “Best Doctors in America,” and “Who’s Who in Medicine.” He is also a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and served as president in a variety of professional organizations in his specialty.

The United States Sports Academy is an independent, non-profit, accredited, special mission Sports University created to serve the nation and world with programs in instruction, research, and service. The role of the Academy is to prepare men and women for careers in the profession of sports. For more information about the Academy visit www.ussa.edu.

Theodore Roosevelt Meritorious Achievement Award

CRITERIA: The Theodore Roosevelt Meritorious Achievement Award is presented to an individual in any amateur or professional sport, past or present, who has excelled as a contributor to both sport and society over at least a decade. 

Previous Recipients:

1988: Ronald Reagan – 40th President and former sports broadcaster

1989: Jack Kemp – Secretary, Housing and Urban Development; former NFL QB

1990: Sen. Bill Bradley – Olympian and pro basketball player

1991: Alan Page – Chief Justice, Minn. Supreme Court, and Vikings All-Pro

1992: Sen. Bob Dole – Kansas basketball player and World War II hero

1993: Orrin Hatch – Ex-basketball player, supporter of athletes and nutrition

1994: David Bing – Owner, Bing Enterprises and Hall of Fame NBA player

1995: William P. “Billy” Payne – President and CEO of Atlanta Olympic Games

1996: Steve Largent – Oklahoma Congressman, Seattle Seahawks receiver

1997: J.C. Watts, Jr. – Oklahoma Congressman, Sooners quarterback

1998: Billie Jean King – Director, World Team Tennis

1999: Jim Ryun – Kansas Congressman, last American to hold mile record

2000: Tom Osborne – Nebraska Congressman/former Cornhuskers football coach

2001: Sebastian Coe – Olympian middle distance runner/British House of Lords

2002: Hon. Jesse Ventura – Governor of Minnesota and former pro wrestler

2003: Dr. T.K. Wetherell – President, Florida State University

2004: Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell – Judo Olympian/U.S. Senator

2005: Sen. John McCain – U.S. Senator/Sports reform legislator

2006: Jerry Richardson – Owner of NFL’s Carolina Panthers

2007: Heath Shuler – North Carolina Congressman/former Tennessee quarterback

2008: Dr. Myles Brand – NCAA President
2009: Daniel Rooney – Steelers owner and U.S. Ambassador to Ireland

2010: Admiral Mike Mullen – Chairman, U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff

2011: General Charles Krulak – 31st Commandant, U.S. Marine Corps.

2012: Kevin Plank – Founder, CEO, and Chairman of Under Armour, Inc.

2013: Kevin Johnson – First African American Mayor of Sacramento, CA, and 3-Time NBA All-Star

2014: Ted Leonsis – Founder, CEO, and majority owner of Monumental Sports and Entertainment

2015: Dr. Gaylon McCollough, M.D. – All-American Center for the University of Alabama,

Internationally renowned Surgeon, Teacher, and Author.

BamaMag Top Stories