Alabama Athletics

In fewer than 20 years of play, Alabama softball reaches 1,000-win milestone

Alabama softball gets 1,000th win with 14-0 victory over Mississippi Valley State

Ordinarily, there is nothing historic about an Alabama softball mid-week victory at Rhoads Stadium. But on Tuesday night the Crimson Tide’s 14-0 five-inning run-rule win over Mississippi Valley State was a milestone for Bama.

Alabama began its softball program in 1997, and in its 20th season the Crimson Tide reached the 1,000-win plateau on Tuesday night. Bama is the fourth team in the Southeastern Conference with 1,000 wins, but the others had softball programs in place before Alabama.

 “It’s special to see this milestone, especially for a program that’s only 20 years old,” Coach Patrick Murphy said. “This team was part of history tonight. Everyone tonight gets their names in the record books.”

 Alabama, which is 32-7 this season, has an all-time record of 1,000-295 (77.2 per cent winning).

The Tide got out in front of Mississippi Valley State (9-20) early, scoring eight in the first inning and six the rest of the way for the run-rule victory. Chandler Dare and Marisa Runyon posted multi-hit performances, combining for five RBIs, while Carrigan Fain drove in three runs and scored twice batting eighth.

Alexis Osorio (8-5) struck out the first seven batters she faced, finishing the night with three hitless innings while Madi Moore pitched two shutout innings in relief.

“We gave a lot of people opportunities tonight,” Murphy said. “I told Alexis and Madi that they would both pitch. Some of our freshmen got opportunities at the plate and they all took advantage of them. We didn’t give up any easy outs or give away an at-bat, even after scoring runs early.”

In the first inning Bama sent 13 batters to the plate as the Tide scored eight runs on five hits. Dare had two hits and three runs batted in as Alabama got off to its 8-0 lead.

Next up, Alabama goes for all-time wins 1,001; 1,002; and 1,003 as the Tide hosts Mississippi State (21-15, 2-7 SEC). The first game in the series begins at 6:30 p.m. CDT Friday.

BamaMag Top Stories