Stuart McNair

Media picks a couple, but Alabama coaches name a number

Damien Harris wins Alabama’s oldest spring practice award

Over the years there have been some additions to the list of awards given to Alabama football players at the end of spring practice.


The oldest of the awards, voted on by reporters attending the A-Day Game to mark the end of spring training, is the Dixie Howell Award, presented to the spring game’s most outstanding player.


This year the media selected sophomore tailback Damien Harris, who was the leading rusher in the game with 20 carries for 114 yards. Harris also caught two passes for 20 yards. And he played for the winning White squad, though that is not a requirement for selection.


The White won the game, 7-3.


A second award selected by the media is the Dwight Stephenson Lineman Award, which goes to either a lineman or linebacker. This year’s choice was White linebacker Tim Williams.


Reporters were somewhat surprised to see that Williams had been credited with only two tackles (both sacks, totaling 17 yards), but it is the nature of a game in which the quarterbacks can’t be tackled – as is the case in all Alabama practices – that some variation can be expected in defensive statistics. Williams was also credited with a game-high three quarterback pressures.


Other awards are given at the end of spring practice and selected by the coaching staff. Head Coach Nick Saban made all awards presentations following Saturday’s A-Day Game.


The coaches selections were:


Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Alphonse Taylor, Tim Williams


Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – Hale Hentges, Rashaan Evans, Shaun Dion Hamilton


Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Dalvin Tomlinson, Daron Payne


Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Ross Pierschbacher


Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Marlon Humphrey, Minkah Fitzpatrick


Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Bo Scarborough, Damien Harris


Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Calvin Ridley, Ardarius Stewart


Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Reuben Foster


Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – JK Scott, Josh McMillion, Lester Cotton


Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award –Bo Grant, Derrick Gore, Jamey Mosley, Levi Wallace, Truett Harris


Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Anfernee Jennings, Brandon Kennedy, Jalen Hurts, Jonah Williams, Keaton Anderson, Miller Forristall


Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Anthony Averett, Brandon Greene, Cam Sims, Cooper Bateman, Da’Shawn Hand, Korren Kirven, Maurice Smith, Robert Foster, Ronnie Harrison


Mal Moore Leadership Award – Cam Robinson, Eddie Jackson, Jonathan Allen


96 Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – O.J. Howard, Ryan Anderson

BamaMag Top Stories