Stuart McNair

Alabama tight end O.J. Howard and wide receiver Calvin Ridley on watch list

Alabama’s O.J. Howard and Calvin Ridley on watch list for Maxwell Award

The Heisman Trophy award was begun in New York in 1935, two years before the Maxwell Football Club in Pennsylvania started presentation of the Maxwell Award to the nation’s most outstanding football player.


Perhaps because he won them both last year (along with the Doak Walker Award given to the nation’s best running back), the Maxwell Award presentation to former Crimson Tide star tailback Derrick Henry may have gone somewhat unnoticed in 2015.


The Maxwell Club, named for Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, a former college player and official in the early 1900s who went on to be a sportswriter and editor for Philadelphia's Public Ledger, has its watch list for the 2016 award and two Crimson Tide players are listed.


They are senior tight end O.J. Howard and sophomore wide receiver Calvin Ridley.


Semifinalists will be revealed Oct. 31, finalists on Nov. 22, and the winner on the College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8. The banquet for the winner will be in Atlantic City, N.., on March 10, 2017.

BamaMag Top Stories