Stuart McNair

Alabama’s Cam Robinson now being discussed in football context

After troubled off-season, Alabama’s Cam Robinson gets football recognition

For most of the summer, the primary conversation regarding Alabama’s outstanding offensive lineman, Cameron Robinson, has been his legal status. Arrested in his hometown of Monroe, La., and charged with violations regarding marijuana and having a stolen firearm, Robinson’s career seemed to be in some jeopardy.

Outstripping the publicity of his arrest was the surprising decision of the district attorney in Louisiana in dropping the charges.

In this preseason period of award watch lists being announced, the attention on Cam Robinson turns to football as he has been named to the 2016 Outland Trophy watch list announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.  

Robinson is among 70 offensive and defensive linemen from around the country named to the preseason list. Three Crimson Tide players have won the award previously including offensive tackles Barrett Jones (2011), Andre Smith (2008), and Chris Samuels (1999). Last season, A’Shawn Robinson was a finalist for the award.

Robinson, the first true freshman to start at left tackle for Alabama since Andre Smith in 2006, has started all 29 games during his two years at The Capstone. He earned first team freshman All-America in 2014 and was named All-Southeastern Conference in the Crimson Tide’s 2015 national championship season. He played his best football late in the season, helping open holes for 199.9 rushing yards per game that ranked 32nd nationally and third in the SEC. Robinson had 46 knockdown blocks that ranked third on the team and has blocked for Bama running backs who have rushed for 100 or more yards 17 times in his career, including 10 times last year.

The Outland Trophy has been presented annually since 1946 by the Football Writers Association of America to recognize the top interior lineman in college football. The award is named in honor of All-America offensive lineman John Outland of Penn. The 2016 winner will be announced at College Football Awards Show in December.

BamaMag Top Stories