Stuart McNair

Alabama safety Eddie Jackson named to Jim Thorpe watch list

Recognition continues to come for Alabama senior safety Eddie Jackson

Eddie Jackson’s career at Alabama has been on an upward plane since his arrival with Crimson Tide football, and following his MVP performance in the College Football Playoff national championship game, it may spiral much higher.


The latest recognition for Alabama senior safety Eddie Jackson is him being named to the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award watch list.


Jackson is among 39 defensive backs from around the country named to the preseason list. Jackson was a semifinalist for the award in 2015.


Antonio Langham previously won the award for Alabama in 1993 and is the Crimson Tide’s only winner.


Jackson, who has also been named to the watch lists for the Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy for the nation’s top defensive player, returns for his final season after transitioning from corner to safety last spring and excelling in that role as a junior. His standout play earned him a spot on the All-Southeastern Conference first team by the conference coaches and Associated Press in 2015. He also received second team All-America honors from Walter Camp and the Football Writers Association of America and third team by the Associated Press.


Last year Jackson led Alabama in interceptions with six - two returned for touchdowns. Jackson also had a forced fumble and fumble recovery to go with his 46 tackles. He accumulated 230 return yards on his interceptions, shattering the previous Crimson Tide all-time record of 163 that was set in 1952. Jackson wrapped up the 2015 season as the SEC leader in interceptions and was tied for seventh in the national ranks.


96 Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE

The Jim Thorpe Award has been presented annually since 1986 by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame to recognize the top defensive back in college football. The award is named in honor of multi-sport legend Jim Thorpe. The 2016 winner will be announced at the College Football Awards Show in December.

BamaMag Top Stories