Bryant Museum

25th edition of SEC Championship Game includes Stallings, Spurrier, Kramer

Gene Stallings was coach of Alabama team that won first SEC title game

It was fitting that Alabama – the most dominant team in Southeastern Conference football history – won the first SEC Championship Game in 1992 en route to the Crimson Tide winning the national championship.

This year the 25th edition of the SEC Championship Game will be played on Dec. 3 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, and some of the major participants of that first game will be on hand.

The opening coin toss of the 25th SEC Championship Game will be conducted by former Alabama Coach Gene Stallings, former Florida Coach Steve Spurrier, and former SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer.

Sign up for [BamaMag]!
Why join?

Stallings and Spurrier were the two head coaches that participated in the first SEC Championship Game in 1992 at Legion Field in Birmingham, which saw Alabama win 28-21 after a late interception return for a touchdown by Antonio Langham, the MVP of the contest.

(Langham will also be in Atlanta as the 24 previous MVPs of the game are honored.)

Kramer, the sixth Commissioner of the SEC, created the concept of the SEC Championship Game and led the SEC during the first 10 installments of the annual title game.

Under NCAA regulations at that time, a conference with 12 members was allowed to play an additional football game to determine its champion, provided the regular season is played in divisions.

The participants of the game are determined each year during the eight-game regular-season conference schedule as the teams with the best overall SEC winning percentage in each division.

BamaMag Top Stories