Stuart McNair

Walter Camp Award for nation’s best player includes semifinalists from Alabama

Alabama’s Derrick Henry was winner of 2015 Walter Camp Award

Could Alabama have back-to-back winners of the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award? While almost everyone concedes Louisville quarterback Jamar Jackson is going to take home all the hardware for which he qualifies. two Crimson Tide players have made the list of 15 semifinalists for the award.
The Walter Camp Foundation makes the presentation each year, and last year’s winner was Alabama tailback Derrick Henry.
Alabama senior defensive end Jonathan Allen and freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts were selected to a list of 15 semifinalists for the award, on Thursday.
 Allen has been a force for one of the nation’s top-ranked units, anchoring the defensive line. He has a team-high 13 quarterback hurries to go with his 40 tackles, seven of which are sacks (-55 yards), which ranks second on the team. The senior defensive lineman has returned a team-leading two fumble recoveries for 105 combined yards and two touchdowns. His 25 career sacks places him second on the Tide’s all-time list behind former Crimson Tide standout and NFL Hall of Famer Derrick Thomas.
 Hurts has excelled for the Crimson Tide, playing in all 10 games this season and starting the last nine. A dual-threat quarterback, Hurts has contributed 2,767 yards of total offense,  2,032 through the air and 735 rushing. He has completed 167-of-260 passes (64.2 per cent) with 16 touchdowns and just seven interceptions, and has accumulated 735 yards on 126 attempts to average 5.8 yards per carry with a team-high 11 scores on the ground. Hurts ranks second in Alabama single-season history for rushing yards by a quarterback, just 56 yards shy of matching all-time leader, Steadman Shealy (1979), at 791 yards.
The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 128 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.   A list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, November 30, and the winner on Thursday, December 8.

BamaMag Top Stories