Stuart McNair

Alabama puts five on Walter Camp All-America squad

Nick Saban R&D pays off for Alabama football

The 127th Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America teams were announced Thursday at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and five Alabama players were named to the nation’s oldest All-America squad.

Seniors Jonathan Allen (defensive end) and Reuben Foster (linebacker) along with junior Cam Robinson (offensive tackle) are WCFF first team All-America.  Sophomore Minkah Fitzpatrick (defensive back) and junior JK Scott (punter) were named to the WCFF second team.

Nick Saban is hailed as the quintessential coach. He is the master of R (Recruiting) & D (Development), investing in the most important factors determining the perpetual success of a program.  The proof: a remarkable 22 of the school’s all-time 59 WCFF first team players are from the Saban Era with C.J. Mosley and Barrett Jones being honored twice.  An overwhelming 13 of the 14 WCFF second team members were groomed under Saban. 

Alabama tied with Ohio State this year for the most individuals selected for the WCFF prestigious teams. The Tide had three first teamers and the Buckeyes two.

Alabama First Team WCAA – 59, twice honored (C.J. Mosley, Barrett Jones, Cornelius Bennett, Tommy Wilcox, Thomas Boyd & Johnny Musso)

Cam Robinson, T, 2016

Jonathan Allen, DL, 2016

Reuben Foster, LB, 2016

Derrick Henry, RB, 2015

Ryan Kelly, C, 2015

Reggie Ragland, LB, 2015

Amari Cooper, WR, 2014

Landon Collins, DB, 2014

C.J. Mosley, LB, 2013, 2012

AJ McCarron, QB, 2013

Cyrus Kouandjio, T, 2013

Chance Warmack, G, 2012

Barrett Jones, C/T, 2012, 2011

Dee Milliner, DB, 2012

Trent Richardson, RB, 2011

Dont’a Hightower, LB, 2011

Mark Barron, DB, 2011

Mike Johnson, G, 2009

Mark Ingram, RB, 2009

Terrence Cody, DL, 2009

Rolando McClain, LB, 2009

Andre Smith, T, 2008

DeMeco Ryans, LB, 2005

Chris Samuels, T, 1999

Kevin Jackson, DB, 1996

David Palmer, WR, 1993

Antonio Langham, DB, 1993

John Copeland, DE, 1992

Eric Curry, DE, 1992

Philip Doyle, PK, 1990

Keith McCants, LB, 1989

Derrick Thomas, LB, 1988

Bobby Humphrey, RB, 1987

Cornelius Bennett, LB, 1986, 1985

Tommy Wilcox, DB, 1982, 1981

Thomas Boyd, LB, 1981, 1980

E.J. Junior, DE, 1980

Ozzie Newsome, WR, 1977

Leroy Cook, DE, 1975

Woodrow Lowe, LB, 1974

Wayne Wheeler, WR, 1973

John Hannah, G, 1972

Johnny Musso, RB, 1971, 1970

Mike Hall, LB, 1968

Dennis Homan, WR, 1967

Bobby Johns, DB, 1967

Ray Perkins, WR, 1966

Cecil Dowdy, T, 1966

Paul Crane, C, 1965

Lee Roy Jordan, C, 1962

William Neighbors, T, 1961

Joseph Domnanovich, C, 1942

Holt Rast, End, 1941

Leroy Monsky, G, 1937

Riley Smith, QB, 1935

Dixie Howell, QB, 1934

Donald Hutson, End, 1934

John Lewis Cain, FB, 1932

Frederick Sington, T, 1930

Alabama WCAA Second Team – 14 (1999-present)

Minkah Fitzpatrick, DB, 2016

JK Scott, P, 2016

A’Shawn Robinson, DL, 2015

Eddie Jackson, DB, 2015

Arie Kouandjio, G, 2014

DJ Fluker, T, 2012

Courtney Upshaw, LB, 2011

William Vlachos, C, 2011

Robert Lester, DB, 2010

Javier Arenas, DB, 2009

Leigh Tiffin, PK, 2009

Terrence Cody, DL, 2008

Rashad Johnson, DB, 2008

Shaun Alexander, RB, 1999

BamaMag Top Stories