Stuart McNair

Maxwell Club names Alabama’s Nick Saban finalist for Munger

Alabama’s Nick Saban finalist for Munger, Robinson, Coaches awards

Is this the year the nation’s best college football coach wins a Coach of the Year Award? It doesn’t hap;pen often. Alabama Coach Nick Saban has been recognized as the nation’s best coach since he won his third or fourth national championship, but he doesn’t have as many Coach of the Year trophies as he does national championship crystal.

To be honest, the best coach is usually the best coach every year he coaches, but that guy isn’t going to get the hardware every year.

The odds are a little better today for Saban taking home at least one trophy as the nation’s best coach. Saban, whose Alabama team is undefeated at 13-0 and ranked first in the nation, is a finalist for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award, which is presented by the Maxwell Football Club.

Saban is also a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year and American Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year honors.

Saban is joined as a finalist for the Munger Award by P.J. Fleck of Western Michigan and Mike MacIntyre of Colorado. 

In his 10th season at Alabama, Saban has led the Crimson Tide to a 13-0 record, its 26th SEC championship and a No. 1 seed in the 2016 College Football Playoff. This is the ninth consecutive season the Tide has won 10 games under Saban and the sixth straight with 11 wins. Alabama will enter the 2016 postseason on a 25-game winning streak, the longest current streak in the nation.

The final round of voting opens Dec. 14 for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year. Eligible voters include NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and football sports information directors, Maxwell Football Club members, and selected national media.

The Munger Award winner announcement will be made Dec. 29, 2016, and the award will be formally presented at the 80th Maxwell Awards Gala, which will be held on March 10, 2017 in Atlantic City, N.J.

BamaMag Top Stories