Brian Robinson (Photo by Kirk McNair)

The addition of four more enrollees in Alabama's signing class give the Tide 16 for spring practice

Brian Robinson, Mac Jones, Xavier McKinney, Daniel Wright latest Alabama enrollees

It was no little surprise when it was learned that Alabama’s 2018 signing class would have 12 early enrollees for the spring semester. It was a big surprise when it was learned the Tide would have four more due to a “situation” as Coach Nick Saban called it.
That situation is a University program in which students who have satisfied most of the qualifications for early admission can complete those requirements by a certain date — in this case, yesterday, Feb. 13 — and enroll into an accelerated semester program.
It is likely that not many take advantage of that situation, but four who did are football players who signed in this year’s class.
Alabama football announced Tuesday that the four additional student-athletes have begun classes at The University and will be eligible to participate in spring practice with the Crimson Tide in 2017.
They are quarterback Mac Jones (Jacksonville, Fla./The Bolles School), defensive back Xavier McKinney (Roswell, Ga./Roswell), running back Brian Robinson (Tuscaloosa/Hillcrest) and defensive back Daniel Wright (Fort Lauderdale, Fla./Boyd Anderson). All are four-star prospects.             
The four enrollees for Alabama’s Spring II semester give the Tide 16 newcomers who will be able to participate in spring practice which begins in March.
The 12 January enrollees are OL Elliot Baker, DL Isaiah Buggs, LS Thomas Fletcher, RB Najee Harris, WR Jerry Jeudy, OL Alex Leatherwood, DB Kyriq McDonald, LB Dylan Moses, WR Tyrell Shavers, QB Tua Tagovailoa, TE Major Tennison and RB Chadarius Townsend.

BamaMag Top Stories