Stuart McNair

Alabama gymnastics has won two of last three SEC Championships

Keely McNeer will return to Alabama gymnastics lineup

The Southeastern Conference Gymnastics Championship Meet gets underway Saturday with Alabama in a familiar spot, the No. 3 seed. Now if the Crimson Tide can only finish in a familiar position, which is SEC champion.

Alabama has been seeded third at the SEC Championships the last three years and have come away with SEC titles in 2014 and 2015 and a runner-up finish in 2016.

This year’s meet is at Veterans Memorial Arena in Jacksonville, Fla.

This week’s national rankings determine the seeding for Saturday’s championships. No. 2 LSU (1), No. 4 Florida (2), No. 6 Alabama (3) and No. 8 Georgia (4) are the top four seeds and will compete in the second session that begins at 6 p.m. EDT (5 p.m. central time). SEC Network will televise the meet.

Following Friday’s practice, Bama Coach Dana Duckworth said, “We had a good practice day, making a lot of little adjustments. We weren’t perfect, but that’s not what we’re looking for today. Our ladies were present, in the moment and ready for tomorrow.”

The SEC’s first session is comprised of No. 12 Kentucky (5), No. 14 Missouri (6), No. 21 Auburn (7) and No. 26 Arkansas (8) and will start 2 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. central and televised on ESPNU).

Alabama will start the 2017 SEC Championships on the balance beam before advancing to the floor exercise and vault before finishing on the uneven bars.

“Keely McNeer will be back in the lineup for the first time since her car accident before the Georgia meet and that will be a boost to our lineup,” Duckworth said.

Alabama has won nine SEC titles since 1988, including four of the last eight. The Crimson Tide has finished either first or second at the SEC championships 29 times since 1982.


BamaMag Top Stories