Bryant Museum

Dr. Gaylon McCollough and Pete Derzis named Distinguished Sportsmen

Gaylon McCollough and Pete Derzis Alabama Sports Hall of Fame honorees

This year’s Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF) Distinguished Sportsmen are both Alabama graduates. Former Crimson Tide football player Gaylon McCollough and Pete Derzis, who worked in Bama’s sports information office as a student assistant, will be honored at this year’s induction banquet on May 13.
Dr. Gaylon McCollough, a renowned facial plastic surgeon, is being recognized as the 2017 Distinguished Alabama Sportsman.
Previously a member of the board of directors of the ASHOF, he has been involved since the beginning with the Bryant-Jordan Student-Athlete Scholarship Program, providing scholarships to graduating seniors interested in studying medicine. The Bryant-Jordan program annually awards over 100 scholarships to high school seniors based on athletic and scholastic achievement.
While at The University of Alabama, the Enterprise native was an Academic All-America center for Coach Paul Bryant and was a member of Alabama’s national championship team in 1964, graduating with honors in 1965.
After he graduated, he enrolled in The University of Alabama Medical School in Birmingham.
Pete Derzis, Sr. vice president for ESPN, is being recognized as the 2017 Distinguished American Sportsman.
He has been instrumental in the creation of numerous sporting events in the state of Alabama most notably two ESPN owned and operated post season bowl games (the Birmingham Bowl and the Raycom Camellia Bowl in Montgomery).
The Birmingham native was the associate athletic director at UAB from 1977-1990. While at UAB, he managed various areas of the athletic department, including all sports administration, broadcasting and fundraising, as well as game day management.
In addition to his current role of leading the ESPN Events team and its 30 owned and operated events in ESPN’s Charlotte offices, he adds college sports programming, including oversight of college football, men’s and women’s college basketball, NCAA Championships, Olympic sports, and rights acquisitions.
They join an impressive list of others who have been so honored as the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Distinguished Sportsmen.  They are:  Hall Thompson (1987), Bob Hope (1988), Jack Warner (1989), Ray Scott (1990), Hugh Culverhouse (1991), Dr. James Andrews (1992), Former President George H. Bush (1992), Charles O. Finley (1993), Dr. David Bronner (1994), Dr. Wilford Bailey (1995), Tom York (1996), Dr. Larry Lemak (1997), Larry D. Striplin, Jr. (1998), Bill Ireland (2000), Bill Legg (2001), John Croyle (2002), Roy Kramer (2003), George Mann 2004), Jim Wilson Jr. (2005), Michael E. Stephens (2006), David Housel (2007), Mal Moore (2007), Joseph Gibbs (2008), Ronald Bruno (2009), Nick Bollettieri (2009), Mickey Newsome (2010), Rick Woodward (2010), Don Logan (2011), Dr. Ken Blankenship (2014), Charles Kelley (2014), Ron Froehlich (2015), Mike Slive (2015), and Edgar Welden (2016).
The 49th annual induction ceremony will be held, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel.  For ticket information, call the ASHOF at?(205) 323-6665.

BamaMag Top Stories