Alabama Athletics

Connor Oslin and Krystal Rivers earn Alabama’s Bryant Award

Krystal Rivers Alabama women’s Bryant Award winner

Alabama has a long history of recognizing academic achievement by its athletes, notably the annual presentation of the Paul W. Bryant Award given to the top male and female student-athletes. Created over 30 years ago by the Tuscaloosa County Chapter of the Alabama Alumni Association, this year’s honorees are both All-America and Academic All-America.

At the Alabama Athletic Department’s annual Crimson Choice Awards Banquet Tuesday, senior Connor Oslin of the men’s swimming and diving team and senior volleyball player Krystal Rivers were revealed as winners of the Bryant awards.

Other finalists for the Bryant Award were Mike Oczypok  (Baseball), Corban Collins  (Men’s Basketball), Ashley Williams  (Women’s Basketball), Ross Pierschbacher  (Football), Robby Prater  (Men’s Golf), Lakareber Abe  (Women’s Golf), Kiana Winston  (Gymnastics), Jennifer Parker  (Rowing), Jordan Meier  (Soccer), Chandler Dare  (Softball), Bailey Scott  (Women’s Swimming and Diving), Erin Routliffe  (Women’s Tennis), Antibahs Kosgei  (Men’s Track and Field) and Lakan Taylor  (Women’s Track & Field).

Women’s tennis and men's swimming and diving were honored as the teams with the highest grade point averages. Tennis earned the honor with a 3.774 team GPA while the swimmers and divers earned the distinction for the second year in row with a 3.462.

The athletics department's community outreach efforts were also recognized. Crimson Tide student-athletes gave almost 3,000 hours toward community service this year. Gymnastics was the women's squad with the most community outreach hours while basketball earned the honor for the men for the second-consecutive year.

A highlight of the event was recognition to former Director of Athletics Bill Battle for his contributions to the Crimson Tide as a student-athlete and administrator.

Other Crimson Choice Awards:

Team of the Year - Football and women’s golf

Coach of the Year Award – Dennis Pursley, men’s swimming and diving and Patrick Murphy, softball

Comeback Athlete of the Year – Bo Scarbrough, football

Athlete of the Year – Jonathan Allen, football and Haylie McCleney, softball

Rookie of the Year – Jalen Hurts, football and Cheyenne Knight, women’s golf

Faculty Member of the Year - Dr. Ron Dulek, professor of management

Support Staff Member of the Year – Fern Hampton, academics

BamaMag Top Stories