Alabama players earn honors in A-Day Game and through spring practice

Freshman wide receiver Jerry Jeudy was selected Dixie Howell Award winner as A-Day MVP

Sometimes the media vote for two top players in Alabama’s spring A-Day Game comes before the issue is settled, and some may think that means the decision is wrong. This year two players for the White squad were the media honorees, but the Crimson team won the game, 27-24, on the final play of the game.

Nevertheless, not many would question the choices of the reporters, who voted early in the fourth quartrer.

Freshman wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, an early enrollee from Deerfield Beach, Fla. (Deerfield Beach HS) caught five passes for 134 yards and two touchdowns (26.8-yard average) to lead the White offense that accumulated 358 passing yards and 419 yards overall. Jeudy's performance earned him the Dixie Howell Memorial Award given to the most valuable player of the Crimson Tide's spring game while defensive lineman Raekwon Davis, who had a team-leading seven tackles with one quarterback sack to lead the White team's defense, earned the Dwight Stephenson Award given to the most valuable lineman of the spring game.

In addition to the honorees selected for their play in the A-Day Game, Alabama coaches make several award presentations based on performance and improvement throughout the spring. Those presentations made by Alabama Coach Nick Saban following Saturday’s spring game are:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Rashaan Evans, Hale Hentges

Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – Keith Holcombe, Jamar King, Irv Smith

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Johnny Dwight, Da’Ron Payne

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Ross Pierschbacher, Jonah Williams

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Anthony Averett, Ronnie Harrison

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Josh Jacobs

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Calvin Ridley

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Anfernee Jennings

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Josh Casher, Miller Forristall, JK Scott

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Bo Grant, Austin Johnson, Donnie Lee, Zavier Mapp, Jacob Parker, Daniel Powell

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Raekwon Davis, Trevon Diggs, Terrell Hall, Najee Harris, Dylan Moses, Brian Robinson, Tua Tagovailoa

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Tony Brown, Lester Cotton, Robert Foster, Xavian Marks, TJ Simmons, Quinnen Williams, Matt Womack

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Shaun Dion Hamilton, Jalen Hurts, Bo Scarbrough

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Bradley Bozeman, Minkah Fitzpatrick


Video by A.P. Steadham

BamaMag Top Stories