Jones, Monroe & Milons get all-star invites

Orlando, Fla. (Oct. 4, 2001) ­ Thirty-seven players from the Southeastern Conference have been issued invitations to participate in the 4th annual Rotary Gridiron Classic presented by Tyco. Invitees include Tiders Terry Jones Jr., Freddie Milons and Aries Monroe.

The all-star game features college seniors from around the United States against Team Florida, composed of athletes who either played college football in Florida or have other ties to the Sunshine State. The game will be played on Saturday, January 26th at 2 p.m. (EST) at the Orlando Citrus Bowl. Pacific West Radio Sports will also carry the game nationally on its network.

Bama's Terry Jones Jr. among those invited.

SEC players selected for Team USA include running back Dicenzo Miller (Mississippi State); tight ends Robert Royal (LSU) and Terry Jones (Alabama); offensive tackles Terrence Metcalf (Ole Miss), Kendall Simmons (Auburn), Melvin Page (South Carolina) and Reggie Coleman (Tennssee); offensive guards Kenny Sandlin (Arkansas), Fred Weary (Tennessee) and Dwayne Pierce (OG); defensive ends Will Overstreet (Tennessee), Jarvis Green (LSU), and Carlos Hall (Arkansas); defensive tackles John Henderson (Tennessee) and Dorsett Davis (Mississippi State), linebackers Dominique Stevenson (Tennessee) and Kalimba Edwards (South Carolina), defensive backs Pig Prather (Mississippi State), Ryan Clark (LSU), Tim Wansley (Georgia), Sheldon Brown (South Carolina), and Andre Lott (Tennessee); and kick returner Freddie Milions (Alabama).

Receiving invitations for Team Florida were linebackers Will Weatherspoon (Georgia) and Aries Monroe (Alabama); strong safety Willie Offord (South Carolina); quarterback Rohan Davey (LSU) and Auburn's Tim Carter (WR) and Mike Pucillo (OG). The University of Florida garnered eight invitations, including Alex Brown (DE), Travis Carroll (LB), Jeff Chandler (K), Andra Davis (LB), Robert Gillespie (RB), Marquand Manuel (SS), Bennie Alexander (RB), and Tommy Moddy (OG).The 37 invitations issued to SEC players were the most of any conference.

Aries Monroe, who is from Tallahassee, Florida, has been invited to play for Team Florida.

Classic alumni have included NFL Pro Bowl quarterback Daunte Culpepper of the Minnesota Vikings and 2000 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Mike Anderson of the Denver Broncos. Other participants have included rising NFL stars Ron Dixon (New York Giants), Darren Howard (New Orleans), Brad Meester (Jacksonville) and Erron Kinney (Tenessee).

Former NFL Head Coaches lead the Rotary Gridiron Classic teams, providing valuable insight and instruction to the players as they begin their professional careers. Their guidance plays a key part in the week of activities and practices, helping the players with the transition to the NFL. Past Rotary Gridiron Classic head coaches have included Lindy Infante (Green Bay/Indianapolis), Wayne Fontes (Detroit), Chuck Noll (Pittsburgh) and Buddy Ryan (Philadelphia/Arizona).

BamaMag Top Stories