SEC Basketball Predictions

Kentucky was voted to win the Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship while Tennessee was selected to capture the SEC women's basketball title in voting by media attending the 2004 SEC Basketball Media Day in Birmingham. As usual, there was evidence of voter apathy at the media event.

Only 18 members of the media participated in the voting near the conclusion of the two-day event in which head coaches and players from each of the 12 men's and women's SEC basketball teams showed up to discuss prospects for the upcoming season.

The Alabama men's team of Coach Mark Gottfried was picked to finish second behind Mississippi State in the SEC Western Division, while the women's team of Coach Rick Moody was picked to finish ninth.

On the men's side, junior forward Kennedy Winston was a pre-season All-SEC selection with senior guard Earnest Shelton named to the second team. No Alabama woman was selected for the All-SEC squad.

Kentucky was named on nine of 18 ballots for the SEC men's championship while Mississippi State was on eight ballots and Florida on one. In divisional predictions, Kentucky was named on 16 ballots to win the Eastern Division while two voters predicted Florida to win the division. In the Western Division, Mississippi State was predicted to win on 17 of 18 ballots with Alabama receiving the other vote.

In women's basketball, Tennessee was selected to win the SEC title on nine of 11 ballots with LSU being named on the other two ballots.

The pre-season All-SEC men's first team consists of Mississippi State's Lawrence Roberts, who was also voted the Player of the Year, Florida's Anthony Roberson, Alabama's Kennedy Winston, Tennessee's Scooter McFadgon and Kentucky's Chuck Hayes. Roberts had 13 votes for player of the year, while Winston, Roberson and Lee had one each.

The second team consists of LSU's Brandon Bass, David Lee of Florida, Kentucky's Kelenna Azubuike, Ronnie Brewer of Arkansas and Earnest Shelton of Alabama.

The pre-season All-SEC women's team is LSU's Seimone Augustus, who was selected as the SEC Player of the Year, Tan White of Mississippi State, Tennessee's Shyra Ely, Vanderbilt's Carla Thomas and LSU's Temeka Johnson.

The Western Division had Mississippi State and Alabama followed by LSU, Arkanasas, Ole Miss, and Auburn. The Eastern Division had Kentucky and Florida followed by Tennessee, South Carolina, Georgia, and Vanderbilt.

In the women's voting, Tennessee was followed by LSU, Vanderbilt, Georgia, Auburn, Florida, Ole Miss and Mississippi State (tied for seventh), Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, and South Carolina.

BamaMag Top Stories