Four Bama Players on Coaches All-SEC Team

Alabama players Kennedy Winston and Earnest Shelton were two of eight first-team All-SEC coaches selections released by the Southeastern Conference office on Wednesday and Bama's Ronald Steele was a unanimous All-SEC freshman selection.

Tide forward Chuck Davis was a second-team pick by the league's coaches.

Kentucky's Tubby Smith was unanimously chosen SEC Coach of the Year by his peers and senior forward Chuck Hayes was selected SEC Defensive Player off the Year by the league's coaches.

LSU's Brandon Bass earned both the SEC Player of the Year and SEC Scholar-athlete of the Year awards and teammate Glen Davis was named the league's Freshman of the Year. Bass won that award in 2004.

Mississippi's Todd Abernethy won the Sixth Man of the Year award.

Bass is third in the league in scoring (17.5 ppg) behind Winston (18.1 ppg) and Florida's Anthony Roberson. Bass is second in rebounds (8.8 rpg) behind Mississippi State's Lawrence Roberts (11.1).

Bama's Jermareo Davidson (7.8 rpg) and Davis (6.8 rpg) are sixth and seventh respectively in rebounding. Winston is 15th in the league with 5.4 rebounds per game.

Steele finished the regular season third in the league in assists (4.9 apg) behind Tennessee's C.J. Watson (5.07 apg) and MSU's Gary Ervin (4.93 apg). He was second in the SEC in assist-to-turnover ratio with 142 assists and 59 turnovers on the season (for a 2.41 ratio).

Arkansas' Eric  Ferguson had 128 assists and 51 turnovers for a 2.51 ratio.

BamaMag Top Stories