NCAA Task Force to Look at Future

An effort to discuss and address the next steps in shaping the future of college athletics will be conducted by NCAA president Myles Brand and a number of university presidents, according to an NCAA news release on Wednesday.

Brand has created the presidential task force to study the future of college sports. It is unlikely that the study will lead to any other conclusion but that more controls should be placed on college athletics, and that they should be administered by the NCAA, which already has a 465-page rule book.

While college presidents make up most of the task force, a law-firm partner will also have a say in the future of college athletics.

John Walda, a partner with Bose, Mckinney and Evans law firm of Indianapolis, Ind., is listed as a member of the fiscal responsibility subcommittee, according to the NCAA press release.

Walda was educated at Indiana University (where Brand was formerly president) and assists clients with a focus on products liability, media law and construction litigation, according to his biography page on, the firm's web site.

There are four representatives of the Southeastern Conference listed as members of the task force, Vanderbilt chancellor Gordon Gee, Georgia president Michael Adams, Mississippi president Robert Khayat and Arkansas chancellor John White.

Gee is noted for dissolving the tradition athletics department (and athletics director) and bringing Vanderbilt athletics under the wing of Student Life and University affairs in 2003.

The task force will hold its first meeting June 9-10 in Tucson, Arizona, to develop a list of what it deems the most pressing problems facing intercollegiate athletics.

Here is the breakdown of each subcommittee:

Implications of Academic Values and Standards
Larry Faulkner, president, Texas (chair)
Michael Adams, president, Georgia
Donald Beggs, president, Wichita State
Scott Cowen, president, Tulane
Shirley Ann Jackson, president, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Benjamin Ladner, president, American University
William Lennox, superintendent, U.S. Military Academy
Mark Murray, president, Grand Valley State
Norval Pohl, president, North Texas
Phillip Stone, president, Bridgewater College (Va.)
John Welty, president, Fresno State
James Wright, president, Dartmouth College

Fiscal Responsibility
Peter Likins, Arizona (chair)
Clinton Bristow Jr., president, Alcorn State
Philip Dubois, president, Wyoming
David Hardesty Jr., West Virginia
Walter Harrison, president, Hartford
Robert Hemenway, chancellor, Kansas
Peter Magrath, president, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges
Kathryn Martin, chancellor, Minnesota-Duluth
Sidney McPhee, president, Middle Tennessee
James Moeser, chancellor, North Carolina
David Skorton, president, Iowa
John Walda, partner, Bose, McKinney and Evans
John Wiley, chancellor, Wisconsin

Presidential Leadership of Internal and External Constituencies
R. Gerald Turner, president, Southern Methodist (chair)
Philip Austin, president, Connecticut
Robert Caret, president, Towson
Carol Cartwright, president, Kent State
Gordon Gee, chancellor, Vanderbilt
Judy Genshaft, president, South Florida
George Hagerty, president, Franklin Pierce College
Kermit Hall, president, State U. of New York at Albany
Robert Kustra, president, Boise State
Robert Lawless, president emeritus, Tulsa
Graham Spanier, president, Penn State
John White, chancellor, Arkansas

Student-Athlete Well-Being
Karen Holbrook, president, Ohio State (chair)
Richard Celeste, president, Colorado College
Jack Jewett, regent, Arizona
Robert Khayat, chancellor, Mississippi
William Meehan, president, Jacksonville State
Eddie Moore Jr., president, Virginia State
Carl Patton, president, Georgia State
Larry Penley, president, Colorado State
Thomas Powell, president, Mount St. Mary's
Shirley Raines, president, Memphis
Kenneth "Buzz" Shaw, chancellor emeritus, Syracuse
Nancy Zimpher, president, Cincinnati

BamaMag Top Stories