Three Named All-SEC

Southeastern Conference Coaches awards were released Tuesday and there were three Crimson Tide players appearing on an All-SEC squad.

University of Alabama senior left fielder Gabe Scott (Lake Charles, La.) has been named First-Team All-SEC by the league's 12 head coaches in an announcement made today at the Hoover Met by the Southeastern Conference office.

Freshman right-hander David Robertson (Tuscaloosa) and freshman shortstop Cale Iorg (Knoxville, Tenn.) were named to the Coaches Freshman All-SEC Team.

Scott, a senior outfielder from Lake Charles, La., was the only Alabama player named to the first or second team All-SEC squad.

"I probably wouldn't have guessed that. I figured I would have a productive season, but you never know what happens," Scott said.

Scott's season has been a storybook finish for the fifth-year senior who saw baseball seasons sink due to injuries and the passing of his father.

"What a great story," Alabama Head Coach Jim Wells said. "When guys are going through tough times and feel like 'Why am I not playing', I can say 'Hey, I remember this guy named Gabe Scott.'

"So not only for this year, but for years to come, what a great motivating thing for others."

Scott is the 73rd player from Alabama to be voted First-Team All-SEC and the first since Beau Hearod in 2003. Alabama head coach Jim Wells has had 14 players named to the First-Team All-SEC Coaches squad since 1995.

In 49 games, Scott batted .387 (63-for-163) with 12 home runs and 34 RBI this season. He led Alabama in hitting, slugging percentage and on-base percentage and ranks in the top three in the SEC in each category. All 12 home runs have come since April 1.

In 30 SEC games, Scott batted .389 (42-for-108) with nine home runs and 26 RBI for the Crimson Tide. He ranks among the SEC leaders in hitting, total hits, runs scored, home runs, RBI, slugging percentage and on-base percentage.

Robertson set the Alabama single-season freshman record with 99 strikeouts this season.

He appeared in 27 games and compileda 7-4 record and 2.08 ERA. Robertson worked 67 1/3 innings and allowed 42 hits, 22 runs and 18 earned runs, with 32 walks and 99 strikeouts. In 17 SEC games, he compiled a 4-2 record and led UA with a 3.28 ERA.

Iorg started 54 games at shortstop and showed to be on the league's top defenders all season. He batted .272 (56-for-206) with four home runs and 34 RBI. In SEC play, Iorg batted .204 (23-for-113) with one home run and 15 RBI.

Here is the Complete Listing of the All-SEC Team:

SEC Player of the Year - Matt LaPorta, Florida

SEC Pitcher of the Year - *Luke Hochevar, Tennessee

SEC Freshman of the Year - J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Jason Determann, LSU

SEC Coach of the Year - Pat McMahon, Florida

* unanimous selection

1B - Matt LaPorta, Florida
2B - Adam Davis, Florida
3B - Chase Headley, Tennessee
SS - Steven Tollesen, South Carolina
C- Josh Bell, Auburn
OF - Ryan Patterson, LSU
OF - Brian Pettway, Ole Miss
OF - Eli Iorg, Tennessee
OF - Gabe Scott, Alabama
DH - Stephen Head, Ole Miss
P - Luke Hochevar, Tennessee
P - Greg Smith, LSU
RP - John Madden, Auburn

1B - Steve Pearce, South Carolina
2B - John Shelby, Kentucky
3B - Chris Coghlan, Ole Miss
SS - Justin Tordi, Florida
C - Brian Jeroloman, Florida
OF - Jeff Corsaletti, Florida
OF - Clete Thomas, Auburn
OF - Nick Stavinoha, LSU
DH - Blake Gill, LSU
P - Clay Dirks, LSU
P - Jensen Lewis, Vanderbilt
RP - Connor Falkenbach, Florida

1B - Justin Henry, Ole Miss
2B - Ryan Wilkes, Kentucky
2B - Cale Iorg, Alabama
3B - Brandon McArthur, Florida
3B - Chris Jackson, LSU
SS - Zack Cozart, Ole Miss
C - J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee
OF - Julio Borbon, Tennessee
OF - Antone DeJesus, Kentucky
OF - Clint Arnold, Arkansas
DH - Jordan Mayer, LSU
DH - Joshua Fields, Georgia
P - James Adkins, Tennessee
P - Nick Schmidt, Arkansas
RP - David Robertson, Alabama

BamaMag Top Stories