Photo report: Iron Bowl Trophy returned

Despite the brave words of their favorite cheer, it definitely was NOT a good night to be an Auburn Tiger in Tuscaloosa. Not only did Alabama clinch it's first regular-season SEC basketball title in 15 years. But at halftime of the 73-68 victory, Tiger student representatives presented the Iron Bowl trophy to Dennis Franchione and the Alabama football team.

Led by Ahmaad Galloway, Andrew Zow, Brooks Daniels, Roberto McBride, Lane Bearden and Lannis Baxley, the Alabama football team walks out on the floor of Coleman Coliseum for the trophy presentation.

Graduating seniors Terry Jones Jr., Jonathan Richey and Andrew Zow share a thought during the ceremony.

Rising senior tight end Theo Sanders gestures to the crowd. The evening was a chance for Bama fans to show their appreciation to the team, and the players were obviously excited.

Matt Lomax, Thurman Ward and Alonzo Ephraim listen.

Dennis Franchione addresses the crowd. Coach Fran reminded the fans that this senior class was the first in the history of Alabama football to have won twice at Auburn. And to the right, Marvin Brown reminds everyone of the outcome of the game.

Both Antwan Odom and Anthony Bryant have been on campus for two seasons now, and the two D-Linemen are being counted on to step their game up to the next level in 2002.

Though the Auburn SGA president had not memorized the words to the Alabama fight song, he generally did a decent job in the effort. But the Tide student section booed lustily anyway.

Santonio Beard and his teammates react to the scene. Key plays from Bama's 31-7 victory last November were shown on the video screens--to the great appreciation and enjoyment of the players.

Last year's senior captains, Terry Jones Jr. and Andrew Zow, reach for the Iron Bowl trophy while Big Al looks on.

BamaMag Top Stories