Two Bama Defensemen on Watch List

Alabama's senior defensive players Roman Harper and DeMeco Ryans are among 50 players from around the nation who have been named to the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list, symbolic as the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The award is selected by the Maxwell Football Club.

Players selected to this initial watch list have distinguished themselves as All Conference or All American selections from their respective universities in past years. Underclassmen are selected based on recommendations from the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

A total of 11 players from the SEC were selected to the watch list.

The Maxwell Award Watch List has been created as a reference to provide additional assistance to eligible voters and to the media when evaluating potential candidates for these awards. The watch lists are not intended to represent an all-inclusive listing of candidates for the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia.

Ten semi-finalists will be announced in October and the field will be trimmed to three finalists in November. The winner of the Maxwell Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN in December. The formal presentation of the Maxwell Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Banquet in February, 2006.

You can view the complete list HERE

BamaMag Top Stories