Leadership Council Named

Alabama Head Football Coach Dennis Franchione Saturday announced the Leadership Council for the 2002 season. The Leadership Council meets regularly to discuss issues with Bama's head football coach.

The first order of business will be that members of the Leadership Council will provide the draft captains for selection of the Crimson and White squads for the A-Day Game. That draft will take place Wednesday. The annual spring game will be next Saturday in Bryant-Denny Stadium with kickoff at 2:30 p.m. CDT.

The Leadership Council includes representatives of offense, defense, special teams, and non-scholarshipped players.

Members of the Leadership Council are:

Offense -- Wide receiver Antonio Carter, wide receiver Sam Collins, center Alonzo Ephraim, tailback Ahmaad Galloway, tight end/fullback Theo Sanders, guard Justin Smiley, and quarterback Tyler Watts.

Defense -- Strong safety Waine Bacon, linebacker Brooks Daniels, cornerback Gerald Dixon, tackle Jarret Johnson, tackle Kenny King, end Kindal Moorehead, and linebacker Cornelius Wortham.

The special teams representative is punter/kickoff man Lane Bearden and the representative of non-scholarshipped players is strong safety Marc Miller.

BamaMag Top Stories