Crimson Tide quarterback Brodie Croyle and linebacker DeMeco Ryans have been named semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards and head coach Mike Shula has been named a semifinalist for the George Munger Award as announced by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Brodie Croyle, a semifinalist for the 69th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, is Alabama's career passing touchdown leader (39), and has passed for 1,814 yards and 12 touchdowns for the fourth-ranked Crimson Tide. He has thrown at least one TD pass in 20 of his 24 career starts.

Croyle is one of three quarterbacks in school history to pass for more than 5,000 yards. He enters the Mississippi State game with 5,697 career passing yards. Croyle needs 287 yards to be the school's all-time leader to move ahead of Andrew Zow (5,983 yards).

Croyle has been named the SEC Offensive Player of the Week once this season and the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week as well.

DeMeco Ryans, a semifinalist the 11th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year, currently leads the team in tackles with 57. He ranks second on the team in tackles for a loss with 9.0 (-45). He's also recorded 3.5 sacks (-31), two pass breakups, two quarterback pressures, two forced fumbles a fumble recovery and an interception.

A four-year starter at linebacker for the Crimson Tide, Ryans has played in all 46 games in his career. He has recorded 288 tackles, with 29 TFLs, and five sacks. His 288 career tackles currently ranks fifth all-time at Alabama and he is second among active SEC defenders with 288 career stops.

He has twice been honored as the SEC's Defensive Player of the Week this season and has also earned the Walter Camp National Defensive Player of the Week award once.

Mike Shula, a semifinalist for the 17th George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year, has led Alabama to an 8-0 start this season, its best start since the 1994 campaign.

The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 8, 2005. Three finalists for each award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winner of the 17th George Munger Award via a press release in December. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 3, 2006 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

BamaMag Top Stories