Awards List Narrows

The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced today that Alabama senior quarterback Brodie Croyle (Rainbow City) is one of 15 semi finalists for the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback.

The fifteen semifinalists are:

Brodie Croyle, Alabama
Brett Basanez, Northwestern
Brian Brohm, Louisville
Jay Cutler, Vanderbilt
Cody Hodges, Texas Tech
Omar Jacobs, Bowling Green
Matt Leinart, USC
Drew Olson, UCLA
Paul Pinegar, Fresno State
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
Michael Robinson, Penn State
Brad Smith, Missouri
Drew Stanton, Michigan State
Marcus Vick, Virginia Tech
Vince Young, Texas.

The O'Brien Selection Committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, as well as former O'Brien Award winners, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced Tuesday, Nov. 22 by the National College Football Awards Association in a joint effort among college football award programs.

The senior is 16-9 (.640) in 25 career starts at Alabama and is riding a 12-game winning streak as the starting quarterback.

In nine games this season, Croyle has completed 151 of 243 (.621) passes for 1,970 yards, with four interceptions and 12 TDs. He has at least one completion of 40 or more yards in seven of his nine starts this season. He averages 16.8 completions, 27 attempts and 218.9 yards per game this season.

At his current pace, Croyle would finish the season (based on a 12-game season) with a school-record 2,627 passing yards in 2005. Croyle is 70 yards away from becoming the first quarterback in Alabama history to pass for 2,000 yards in two different seasons. As a sophomore in 2003, he threw for 2,093 yards, the second-highest single-season mark in Bama annals.

In 36 career games, Croyle has completed 437 of 773 passes for 5,813 yards, with 22 interceptions and 39 touchdowns. He is Alabama's all-time touchdown leader with 39 career TD passes. He broke the previous record of 35 TD passes held by Andrew Zow (1998-2001) and Mike Shula (1983-86).

Croyle is currently second on the school's all-time list for pass attempts, completions and yards. With 437 completions, he is 22 shy of breaking Andrew Zow's (1998-2001) career record of 459. With 773 career pass attempts, Croyle is 80 away from breaking Zow's all-time record of 852. He has 5,813 passing yards and is 170 yards shy of the Alabama career passing record held by Zow (5,983).

The winner of the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show at 7:00 p.m. (EST) on Thursday, Dec. 8, 2005. The show will air live on ESPN from the Atlantic Dance Hall on The Boardwalk at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. The winner will be honored Feb. 20, 2006, at the 29th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth. Len Dawson, recipient of the 2005 Davey O'Brien Legends Award, and the O'Brien High School Scholarship Award winner also will be honored that night. Air transportation is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O'Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing annually the outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award's namesake, Davey O'Brien. O'Brien led the TCU Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding annually a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex. Since 1977 the Davey O'Brien Foundation has awarded over $248,000 to the various O'Brien winners' universities and more than $380,000 to deserving high school students.

BamaMag Top Stories