Jay Seawell has coached the University of Alabama to back-to-back golf tournament championships. The Crimson Tide won the 2006 Shoal Creek Intercollegiate on Tuesday, following up its season opening victory at the Carpet Capital Classic on September 17.

It is the first time Alabama has won back-to-back golf tournament championships since the 1981 Alabama team won the Southeastern Intercollegiate and the Alabama Intercollegiate.

Alabama went into the final round Tuesday at even par but shot five over par in the final round (288-288-293/869), six shots ahead of Tennessee who finished second at 11 over par, despite having the low round, 288, on Tuesday (290-297-288/875). Florida State finished third (882), followed by Central Florida (885), Auburn (886), Michigan State (893), Baylor (894), North Carolina State (896), SMU (899), host UAB (900), tied at 11th LSU and Virginia (901), Georgia Southern (906), North Florida (909) and Samford (918).

Florida State's Jonas Blixt shot five under par, 67, in the final round to claim the individual championship at Shoal Creek. He shot 68-76-67/211. Alabama's Gator Todd (68-73-76/217) and Mark Harrell (72-73-72/217)finished tied with one another for fifth place at one over par. The Tide's Matthew Swan finished T-14th (71-74-76/221) at five over. Michael Thompson finished T-23rd (79-76-69/224), and Thomas Hagler finished T-34th (77-68-80/225).

Alabama returns to play when it host a powerful national field of 12 teams at the Jerry Pate National Intercollegiate on October 9-10 at Birmingham's Old Overton Club. That field will include Alabama, Auburn, UAB, Georgia State, BYU, Arizona, ETSU, Texas, Texas Tech, Purdue, Tulsa and LSU.

BamaMag Top Stories