Three Selected

Did Steve Spurrier get mad at The University of Alabama and take out his spite by leaving Andre Smith off the 2006 All-Southeastern Conference Freshman football team? Well, probably not. But it's hard to figure Smith not being a unanimous selection.

Three Alabama freshmen were named to the honor squad announced by the SEC office. The league's 12 head coaches voted on the team, which includes Crimson Tide freshmen Andre Smith on the offensive line, Prince Hall at linebacker, and P.J. Fitzgerald as punter.

Smith, from Birmingham, started all 12 games at left tackle this season and led the Crimson Tide with 800 total snaps and 62 knockdowns. He became the seventh true freshman in school history to start the season opener when he took the field on September 2 against Hawaii.

Hall, from Moreno Valley, California, played in all 12 games and earned eight starts at middle linebacker. He led Alabama with 10.5 rackles for loss this season and had at least one in nine of his 12 games, including the last six in-a-row. He scored his first collegiate touchdown with a 50-yard fumble return at Florida on September 30 in Gainesville.

Fitzgerald averaged 38.5 yards per kick in 12 games this season. He dropped 18 punts inside the 20 yard line. He also served as the Crimson Tide's holder on extra point attempts and field goals.

2006 SEC Coaches Freshman All-SEC Team


TE - Ben Cleveland, Arkansas; OL - Andre Smith, Alabama, Ciron Black, LSU, John Jerry, Ole Miss, Justin Jeffries, Kentucky and Craig Jenkins, Mississippi State; C - Josh McNeil, Tennessee; WR - Percy Harvin, Florida, Brandon LaFell, LSU and Damian Williams, Arkansas; QB - Matthew Stafford, Georgia and Tim Tebow, Florida; RB - LaMarcus Coker, Tennessee and Anthony Dixon, Mississippi State.


DL - Ricky Jean-Francois, LSU, Sen'Derrick Marks, Auburn and Kade Weston, Georgia; LB - Prince Hall, Alabama, Rodney Paulk, South Carolina, Micah Johnson, Kentucky, Rico McCoy, Tennessee, Wendel Davis, Arkansas and Jamon Hughes, Mississippi State; DB - Trevard Lindley, Kentucky, Emanuel Cook, South Carolina; D.J. Moore, Vanderbilt; Aairon Savage, Auburn and Jerraud Powers, Auburn.

Special Teams

PK - Lones Seiber, Kentucky and Joshua Shene, Ole Miss; P - P.J. Fitzgerald, Alabama; RS - Brandon James, Florida.

2006 Alabama Football Post-Season Award Winners

Javier Arenas

Freshman All-SEC (The Sporting News)

Simeon Castille

1st Team All-SEC (Associated Press)

1st Team All-SEC (Coaches)

Antoine Caldwell

2nd Team All-SEC (Coaches)

P.J. Fitzgerald

Freshman All-SEC (Coaches)

Freshman All-SEC (The Sporting News)

DJ Hall

2nd Team All-SEC (Coaches)

Prince Hall

SEC Freshman Defensive Player of the Year (The Sporting News)

Freshman All-SEC (Coaches)

Freshman All-SEC (The Sporting News)

Andre Smith

Freshman All-SEC (Coaches)

Freshman All-SEC (The Sporting News)

BamaMag Top Stories