Early SEC Predictions

Phipps, an annual Southeastern Conference football publication out of South Carolina, has announced its pre-season team and all-star predictions. It's not surprise that a rebuilding Alabama football team is in the mediocre category. But there are a few surprises from Phipps.

Alabama is picked to finish fourth in the Southeastern Conference Western Division, behind LSU, Auburn, and Arkansas, and ahead of Ole Miss and Mississippi State.

The big surprise is in the Eastern Division where the publication picks South Carolina number one and relegates defending national champion Florida to fourth in the SEC East. Behind the Gamecocks are Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky and Vanderbilt.

Phipps picks LSU to win the SEC Championship Game.

Alabama landed three players on the pre-season All-SEC team, two on offense and one on defense.

It was no surprise that wide receiver D.J. Hall and center Antoine Caldwell were selected first team offense, but it is probably a mild surprise that tackle Andre Smith made only second team on the Phipps team.

On defense, cornerback Simeon Castille was first team and end Wallace Gilberry and linebacker Prince Hall were second team.

The first team offense had two running backs, both from Arkansas -- Darren McFadden and Felix Jones. André Woodson of Kentucky was the quarterback and the Wildcats' Keenan Burton, along with Vanderbilt's Earl Bennett, joined Bama's D.J. Hall as the wide receivers. In addition to Caldwell, the offensive linemen arre Jonathan Luigs of Arkansas, Michael Oher of Ole Miss, Drew Miller of Florida, and Brian Stamper of Vanderbilt. Jacob Tamme of Kentucky is tight end Ryan Succop of South Carolina the placekicker.

On the first team defense, the linemen are Glenn Dorsey and Tyson Jackson of LSU, Antwain Robinson of Arkansas, and Derrick Harvey of Florida; the linebackers are Jasper Brinkley of South Carolina, Wesley Woodyard of Kentucky and Jerod Mayo of Tennessee. In addition to Castille, the defensive backs are Matterral Richardson of Arkansas, Paul Oliver of Georgia, and Johnathan Hefney of Tennessee. Britton Colquitt of Tennessee is the punter.

The second team offense is quarterback Erik Ainge of Tennessee; running backs Cory Boyd of South Carolina and Rafael Little of Kentucky; wide receivers Early Doucet of LSU, Kenny McKinley of South Carolina and Marcus Monk of Arkansas; in addition to Smith, the offensive linemen are Ciron Black and Brett Helms of LSU, Jamon Meredith of South Carolina, and Phil Trautwein of Florida; Andy Boyd of South Carolina is the tight end and Joshua of Ole Miss the placekicker.

The second defesne has a defensive line of Gilberry, Casper Brinkley of South Carolina, Quentin Groves of Auburn, and Titus Brown of Mississippi State; linebackers Jonathan Goff of Vanderbilt, Prince Hall and Weston Dacus of Arkansas; and defensive backs Emanuel Cook of South Carolina, Kelin Johnson of Georgia, Trevard Lindley of Kentucky, and Chevis Jackson of LSU. Succop is the punter.

For more about Phipps, www.phippsfootballandcharity.com

BamaMag Top Stories