Four Alabama Golfers Honored

The Southeastern Conference announced its 2007 Men's Golf Awards on Monday, and four University of Alabama golfers are among the winners.

For the second straight year, Joseph Sykora has been named the SEC Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The junior from Daphne has been a key player on the Alabama team, winning the individual tournament championship at the Jerry Pate National Intercollegiate in October, setting the school's 54-hole record of 199 along the way to lead Alabama to the team championship.

Sykora maintained a 4.21 GPA in his major, Accounting. He is an Honors College student at Alabama and was named an ESPN Academic All-America in the At-Large Category---which embraces athletes from several sports---in 2006. A Freshman Academic All-SEC golfer in 2004, he was Academic All-SEC in 2005 and 2006 and will be named Academic All-SEC in 2007 when that team is named in June.

Junior Michael Thompson, who is in his first season at Alabama, and junior Gator Todd were voted first team All-SEC.

Thompson transferred to Alabama from Tulane where he was a first team All-Conference USA golfer. Tulane dropped its golf program in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Thompson stepped right into Alabama's lineup and is Alabama's low stroke leader at 72.14. Thompson has had five top 10 finishes this season, including a fourth place finish at the 2007 SEC Championships. He's finished three tournaments under par. Thompson is a junior from Tucson, Arizona, and is a two-time United States Amateur participant.

Todd has played in all 10 of the Tide's tournaments in Alabama's record-setting season, helping lead Alabama to four team championships since September and the school's first No. 1 golf ranking. Todd has a 72.50 stroke average and leads the Tide in rounds counted with 90 per cent (27 out of 30) this season and 89.6 per cent (86 of 96) for his Alabama career, a statistic that also leads the 2007 team. Todd has had five top 10 individual finishes this season and has finished among the top 24 individuals in nine out of his 10 tournaments. He has finished under par in two tournaments.

Matthew Swan, a sophomore from Montgomery, has been voted second team All-SEC by the league's coaches. Swan was Second Team All-SEC as a freshman in 2006. The three-time U.S. Amateur participant has competed in nine tournaments this season and has a 72.78 stroke average and three tournaments where he's finished under par. Swan has finished among the top 24 individuals in nine of his 10 tournament appearances this year, including two top six finishes.

Tide head golf coach Jay Seawell has now produced six All-SEC golfers since his first season at Alabama in 2002-03.

Florida sophomore Billy Horschel was voted SEC Player of the Year. He won a tournament this season and finished 10th at the 2006 NCAA Championships. Georgia's Hudson Swafford was SEC Freshman of the Year.

Former Crimson Tide golfer Jim Kelson, who is now the head coach at Tennessee, was voted the SEC Coach of the Year. Kelson lettered at Alabama in 1985, 1986 and 1987.

BamaMag Top Stories