Smith Only Soph on Preseason Outland Watch

The Football Writer's Association of America released its Outland Trophy watch list on Tuesday, and Alabama sophomore Andre Smith was among the 41 players listed.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

Andre Smith, who started at left tackle for Alabama as a true freshman and played more snaps than any other Crimson Tide player last year, was the only sophomore on the list, and the rest of the members of the watch list were juniors and seniors.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Wisconsin offensive tackle Joe Thomas won the 2006 Outland Trophy.

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration. Smith is one of only five Southeastern Conference players on the preseason list.

The 2007 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 6 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be in January 2008 in Omaha, Neb.

Nebraska has more Outland Trophy winners than another school. Seven Cornhuskers have claimed the trophy, with Nebraska center Dave Rimington being the only player to win it twice (in 1981 and '82).

** Information from the Football Writers Association of America

Click here for complete watch list

BamaMag Top Stories