Gains And Losses For Tide

There were two prominent players missing for Alabama's non-conference game against Louisiana-Monroe Saturday, but there was also an announcement that five players who have been out of action for five games will be back in the lineup against Auburn next week.

D.J. Hall, the Alabama record-holder in most Crimson Tide receiving categories, was held out of the first half of the Tide's game against ULM Saturday for an undisclosed reason. Tailback Terry Grant was held out of the first quarter. It was pointed out that the suspensions had nothing to do with previous suspensions of other Alabama players.

Also reinstated and eligible to play at Auburn next week are five players who have been held out for four games in connection with an investigation into players having improper receipt of textbooks. The announcement said "The University of Alabama was informed this morning by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) that five student-athletes who have been serving suspensions imposed by The University have had their eligibility reinstated effective at the conclusion of today's game."

The five Bama football players--starting offensive linemen Antoine Caldwell and Marlon Davis, back-up tailback Glen Coffee, and back-up defensive backs Chris Rogers and Marquis Johnson--were suspended by The University on October 30 due to improper receipt of textbooks. Earlier this week The University submitted a report on the situation to the NCAA. The report said the inquiry was ongoing.

Jimmy Johns started game at tailback and gained six yards on the first play of the game. He was replaced by Jonathan Lowe on the second play of the game. Terry Grant, who has been the starter all season, came in on the first Bama offensive play in the second quarter.

For the second consecutive game Alabama's offensive line had Chris Capps at right tackle and Mike Johnson at right guard.

Alabama seniors and their families were honored in pregame ceremonies. The seniors are:

Justin Britt, Keith Brown, Matt Caddell, Chris Capps, Marcus Carter, Simeon Castille, Jamie Christensen, Matt Collins, Joshua Curry, Trent Dean, Morgan Garner, Wallace Gilberry, Eric Gray, D.J. Hall, Courtney Moore, Darren Mustin, ForressRayford, Layne Rinks, Darwin Salaam, Keith Saunders, Marcel Stamps, and Demarcus Waldrop.

Alabama seniors served as captains and were represented at the coin toss by wide ereceiver Matt Caddell, linebacker Keith Saunders and defensive end Wallace Gilberry.

Victor Ellis and Ahmaad Galloway were former Crimson Tide players serving as honorary captains.

BamaMag Top Stories