Two Tide Golfers On Hogan Watch List

One made a trip into the 2007 U.S. Open field and the other was a 2007 U.S. Amateur finalist. And for their success on the golf course, two University of Alabama golfers have been placed on the Watch List for the Ben Hogan Award.

Alabama seniors Mark Harrell of Hazlehurst, Ga., and Michael Thompson of Tucson, Ariz., are among the 24 players named Wednesday to the list. The Ben Hogan Award is considered the most prestigious collegiate golf award, presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer. It takes into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12 months.

Former Crimson Tide golfer Marten Olander won the Hogan Award in 1993, his senior season. The 1993 All-America graduated from Alabama at the end of that season, putting together a perfect 4.0 GPA in business his senior year, and went on to play professionally in the European PGA. Olander won the 2001 European PGA Hardelot Challenge de France.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Billy Horschel of Florida, Jamie Lovemark of USC, and Kyle Stanley of Clemson, British Amateur champion Drew Weaver of Virginia Tech, and Walker Cup participants Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest highlight the list.

Others on the 24 player watch list include Jonas Blixt of Florida State, Ryan Brehm of Michigan State, UCLA's Kevin Chappell and Lucas Lee, Jonas Enander Hedin and Stefan Wiedergruen of Charlotte, Georgia's Harris English and Brian Harman, Derek Fathauer of Louisville, Stanford's Rob Grube, Chesson Hadley and Cameron Tringale of Georgia Tech, UNLV's Seung-su Han, Minnesota's Clayton Rask, Joel Sjoholm of Georgia State and Sonoma State's Jarin Todd.

Harrell competed as an amateur in the 2007 U.S. Open and missed the cut in the PGA event by just one stroke, exiting in the same scoring group that sent Phil Mickelson home.

Thompson, a 2007 Ping All-American, made it to the finals of the 2007 U.S. Amateur. He is a three-time U.S. Amateur participant. Harrell has competed in the U.S. Amateur the past three straight years, 2005, 2006 and 2007.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced on April 16. Three finalists will be named on May 7 and will gather at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas for the May 18 ceremony announcing the winner.

BamaMag Top Stories