Grant, McCullough A-Day Award Winners

Former Alabama Coach Paul Bryant started a tradition of spring football practice awards, some suspect as a motivational tool for Crimson Tide players in the drudgery of spring work. The tradition continues and the number of awards have been expanded.

Two Alabama football awards are selected by media attending the A-Day Game. This year the sportswriters selected Terry Grant and Alfred McCullough for game awards.

The media selected Grant as winner of the Dixie Howell Award as the Most Valuable Player in the A-Day Game. Grant, who was injured late last year with a sports hernia, said after the game that he was 100 per cent healthy. Grant had touchdown receptions of 75 and 14 yards (and four total receptions for 87 total yards) and six rushes for 21 yards.

McCullough was winner of the Dwight Stephenson Most Valuable Lineman Award as voted by the press. McCullough was credited with six tackles, including one quarterback sack. (Quarterbacks were in black jerseys and protected from contact, so it was at the discretion of the officials as to win the quarterback was tackled.) McCullough also broke up two passes.

Other spring awards are made by the football coaching staff. This year's award winners are:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter -- Linebacker Rolando McClain

Jerry Duncan I Like To Practice -- Cornerback-Kick Returner Javier Arenas and Tight End Travis McCall

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman -- Nose tackle Lorenzo Washington

Bobby Johns Defensive Back -- Cornerback Kareem Jackson

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman -- Guard Mike Johnson and Tackle Andre Smith

Ray Perkins Receiver -- Wide Receiver Mike McCoy

Johnny Musso Offensive Back -- Quarterback John Parker Wilson

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker -- Jimmy Johns

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman -- Nose Tackle Josh Chapman and Wide Receiver Darius Hanks

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Player -- Cornerback Tyrone King and Placekicker Leigh Tiffin

Derrick Thomas Community Service--Tailback Glen Coffee and Weakside Linebacker Cory Reamer

Mal Moore Leadership -- Center Antoine Caldwell and Safety Rashad Johnson

Bart Starr Most Improved Player -- Offensive Tackle Drew Davis and Strong Safety Justin Woodall

Sylvester Croom Commitment To Excellence -- Offensive Guard Marlon Davis and Defensive End Bobby Greenwood

BamaMag Top Stories