Tide's Rashad Johnson Named To Watch List

Dallas, Texas – Alabama senior safety Rashad Johnson was named to the 2008 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List as announced by the Football Writers Association of America on Monday. The Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football and is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Rashad Johnson led Alabama with 94 total tackles, with 57 of those solo stops, last season. He was a first team All-SEC selection and led the league with six interceptions. Johnson, a 2007 team captain, also recorded 5.5 tackles for loss, eight pass break-ups, one forced fumble, one sack and two quarterback hurries.

The winner of the 2008 Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be honored at a banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte on Sunday, December 7.

Johnson is the third Alabama player to be named to a 2008 preseason watch list. Senior center Antoine Caldwell was on the Rimington Watch List (top center), which was released on May 8. Caldwell and junior offensive tackle Andre Smith were on the Outland Trophy Watch List (top lineman), released on April 22.

BamaMag Top Stories