UA Coaches Pick Six For Weekly Honors

Six Alabama players earned player of the week honors following the Crimson Tide's 41-30 victory at No. 3 Geogia, head coach Nick Saban announced Monday after the staff had a chance to grade film from Saturday's game.

John Parker Wilson, Julio Jones and Roy Upchurch were recognized on offense by the Alabama coaches in their Player of the Week selections.

Wilson completed 13-of-16 passes for 205 yards with one touchdown and no interceptions. He set Alabama's career passing yardage record in the second half and was also named the SEC Offensive Player of the Week.

Jones led all receivers with five catches for 94 yards with one touchdown. All five of his catches went for first downs and he now leads the Crimson Tide with 226 yards on 16 catches and four receiving touchdowns.

Upchurch had six carries for 18 yards and a TD on the ground while also coming up with two big catches for 51 yards. His 29-yard catch and run in the fourth quarter set up UA's final touchdown and was also the catch that put Wilson into the record books as the school's all-time leading passer.

On defense, Rolando McClain and Rashad Johnson were the team's top two players in terms of production points Saturday. McClain had seven tackles (six solo), a tackle for loss and two pass break-ups according to the coaches. He leads the team with 34 tackles on the season.

Johnson was credited with seven tackles (three solo) by the UA coaching staff. He is second on the team with 26 stops this year and is tied for first with seven pass break-ups.

Leigh Tiffin was the team's top specialist as he connected on both field goal attempts (34 and 26 yards) and all five extra point attempts. He is 8-of-10 this year on field goals and 21-of-21 on extra points.

McClain has been named a player of the week by the coaches four times this season (Clemson, Tulane, Arkansas & Georgia). Glen Coffee is next with three selections (Clemson, Western Kentucky & Arkansas). Wilson, Johnson, Tiffin, Upchurch, Andre Smith, Javier Arenas and Chris Rogers have each earned the honor twice.

BamaMag Top Stories