Jordan, Hannah On Orange Squad

MIAMI, Fla. – Former Alabama All-Americans Lee Roy Jordan and John Hannah were named to the 75th Anniversary Orange Bowl Team. The Orange Bowl Association is commemorating the Orange Bowl's 75 years. The team selected by fans from a list nominated by a panel of college football sports writers consists of all 11 offensive and defensive positions, plus a punter, a kicker and two coaches.

Voting concluded on Nov. 30, 2008, which is exactly 75 days until the 75th Anniversary FedEx Orange Bowl. The 75th FedEx Orange Bowl will be played on Jan. 1, 2009 at Dolphin Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla. Kickoff is set for 8 p.m. (EST) and will be televised nationally by FOX Sports.

Alabama is one of only six schools with multiple players on the 75th Anniversary Orange Bowl team. Southern California heads the list with six, while Nebraska had four players chosen and Miami (Fla.) added three honorees. Alabama, Florida State and Oklahoma were the only other schools with more than one honoree.

Jordan led Alabama to a 17-0 win over Oklahoma in the 1963 Orange Bowl, which was attended by President John F. Kennedy. Jordan set an NCAA bowl record with 31 tackles in the win over the Sooners.

Hannah is considered one of the game's greatest offensive linemen. He played in the 1972 Orange Bowl against the Nebraska Cornhuskers in a game that decided the national championship.

BamaMag Top Stories