Two Tide Golfers On Hogan List

University of Alabama golfers Matthew Swan and Bud Cauley were named to the 2009 watch list for The Ben Hogan Award, which goes to the top player in college golf, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced on Monday.

"It's the highest award in college golf, like the Heisman Trophy is in college football, so it is a great honor just to be included on the watch list," Alabama Coach Jay Seawell said. "It is exciting to have two players on the watch list and it is a tremendous honor for Matthew (Swan) and Bud (Cauley). Now they have to go out and play their best golf this spring and try to win the award."

Swan, a senior from Montgomery, enters the spring campaign ranked 30th nationally in the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. He was an honorable mention All-American and first-team All-SEC performer following the 2007-08 season. Swan boasts a scoring average of 71.50 this year with two top 10 finishes during the fall schedule.

Cauley, a true freshman from Jacksonville, Fla., has made an immediate impact in the Crimson Tide's lineup. He led Alabama with a 71.08 stroke average during the fall season and posted two top five finishes in four tournaments. Cauley ranks 13th nationally in the individual Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index entering the spring campaign and has played 12 career rounds at Alabama with five coming in below par.

The Ben Hogan Award is one of the most prestigious awards in men's college golf. It is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 16. The three finalists named on May 7 will be invited to Colo–nial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 22.

Along with Swan and Cauley, the watch list of 22 players also include last year's winner, Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State), Jorge Campillo (Indiana), Sihwan Kim (Stanford), Jamie Lovemark (Southern California), Billy Horschel (Florida), Nick Taylor (Washington), Bronson Burgoon (Texas A&M),Sam Cyr (Point Loma Nazarene), Dustin Garza (Wichita State), Matthew Giles (Southern California), Russell Henley (Georgia), Adam Mitchell (Georgia), Hudson Swafford (Georgia), Trent Leon (Oklahoma State), Eddie Olson (UNLV), Kyle Stanley (Clemson), Zack Sucher (UAB), Jarin Todd (Sonoma State), Cameron Tringale (Georgia Tech) and Mike Van Sickle (Marquette).

Former Alabama golfer Michael Thompson was a finalist for The Ben Hogan Award last season while Mark Harrell was on the watch list. Marten Olander is the only Crimson Tide golfer to win The Ben Hogan Award, capturing the honor in 1993.

BamaMag Top Stories