Pearson Gets Thanks At Awards Banquet

It was no surprise that the top awards went to the best players at Alabama's annual men's basketball awards banquet. And it was also no surprise that appreciation was greatest for a former Crimson Tide walk-on player and assistant coach.

Each year the Alabama men's basketball team is recognized for its performance and honored in various categories by the Tuscaloosa Tipoff Club. The 2008-09 team had the usual awards for scoring and rebounding and the like. But this was a particularly unusual year.

Late in the season, Bama received the resignation of longtime Coach Mark Gottfried. Philip Pearson, Gottfried's top assistant, took over the team.

Tuesday's awards banquet at the Bryant Conference Center was notable for the outpouring of appreciation for the job done by Pearson in difficult circumstances.

Following dinner, Pearson spoke briefly and gave thanks to those whose support ensures on-court success for the Tide. Pearson was applauded with multiple standing ovations in recognition of his 16 years of service to Alabama as a student-athlete and coach and for guiding the team through a tumultuous 2008-09 season with upstanding grace.

Pearson was joined by the rest of the 2008-09 coaching staff in presenting individual awards before the evening concluded with a highlight video documenting the 2008-09 season.

Award winners are:

Robert ‘Rah Rah' Scott Christian Leader Award – Justin Knox

Paul Sullivan Most Blocked Shots Award – JaMychal Green

Guy Lee Turner Defensive Award – Andrew Steele

Jerry Harper Rebounding Award – JaMychal Green

Highest Field Goal Percentage Award – JaMychal Green

Hustle Award – Greg Cage

Hayden Riley Scholarship Award – Greg Cage

Highest Free Throw Percentage Award – Mikhail Torrance

Most Steals Award – Senario Hillman

Highest Three-Point Field Goal Percentage Award – Anthony Brock

Assists Award – Mikhail Torrance

Scoring Average Award – Alonzo Gee

Larry Park Coaches Award – Alonzo Gee

BamaMag Top Stories