Three Win Awards For A-Day Play

Once upon a time there was one football award in Alabama spring training. The Most Valuable Player, as determined by sportswriters covering the game, won the Dixie Howell Award. In the early 1970s, former Crimson Tide Coach Paul Bryant established a number of awards based on spring performance.

Those spring awards, many named for former Alabama football greats, have been expanded. In addition to the Dixie Howell Award, media members vote on the Dwight Stephenson Award winner for the most outstanding lineman in the game.

Numerous other awards are given to players for spring work. Those awards are determined by the coaching staff.

Alabama Coach Nick Saban presented the awards at the conclusion of Saturday's A-Day Game.

Three players were recognized by the media for their outings in the A-Day Game.

Sophomore receiver Marquis Maze and junior quarterback Greg McElroy shared the Dixie Howell Memorial Award as Most Valuable Players of the A-Day Game. Maze finished the day with 134 all-purpose yards, gaining 87 yards on five receptions while rushing for 47 yards on two carries. McElroy completed 16 of 30 passes for 189 yards with two interceptions and two touchdowns.

In voting by the media, sophomore defensive lineman Marcell Dareus was winner of the Dwight Stephenson Award as the most valuable lineman in the A-Day Game. Dareus. a 6-3, 280-pound defensive lineman, was credited with 4 tackles, including one quarterback sack. The upcoming sophomore is from Birmingham.

The following Alabama football players were honored for the performance throughout spring football practice with award winners selected by the Crimson Tide coaching staff:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Terrence Cody & Don't'a Hightower

Jerry Duncan "I Like to Practice" Award – Barrett Jones & Tyrone King

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Brandon Deaderick

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Drew Davis

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Justin Woodall

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Terry Grant

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Julio Jones

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Cory Reamer

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Baron Huber & Ali Sharrief

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Thomas Darrah & Brian Selman

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Robby Green & William Vlachos

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – James Carpenter & Lorenzo Washington

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Mike Johnson & Rolando McClain

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Javier Arenas & Greg McElroy

BamaMag Top Stories