Notes From Tide's A-Day Football Game

Forecasts of rainy weather and national television by ESPN didn't deter a strong contingent of Crimson Tide fans from attending A-Day. A crowd estimated at 84,050 was in Bryant-Denny Stadium, the second-highest A-Day Game mark in history, and the second-largest crowd to witness a spring game at any Southeastern Conference school behind the 92,138-plus who witnessed A-Day proceedings in 2007.

The 2008 A-Day Game drew 78,200 to see the Alabama spring football game, the third-largest crowd to witness a spring game at any Southeastern Conference school.

The 2007 A-Day Game drew in excess of 92,138 fans, with fans being turned away at the gate. The attendance mark of over 92,138 fans was well over the previous best for a Southeastern Conference Spring Day game, believed to be Tennessee's 73,000 in 1986. It also nearly doubled 2007's second-best attendance mark of 47,500 set by Florida.

The Tide's last three A-Day attendance marks have bettered the previous Bryant-Denny Stadium A-Day record of 46,700 set in 1994. Prior to the last three A-Day crowds, the previous Alabama A-Day record was 51,117 set April 9, 1988, in Birmingham's Legion Field.

Alabama used Southeastern Conference officials for the A-Day Game at Bryant-Denny Stadium Saturday. Five of the officials in the A-Day Game do not get to work Alabama games in the fall because they are graduates of The University of Alabama, four of them former players.

Referee Steve Shaw, generally regarded as the top referee in the SEC, is an Alabama graduate, though he did not play football for the Crimson Tide. Former Bama players officiating Saturday were George Ranager, Brent Sowell, Jay Vines, and Mike Washington.

Liberty Mutual selected Alabama Coach Nick Saban as 2008 national coach of the year. With that honor, Saban picks up a $50,000 check from Liberty Mutual for Saban's charity, Nick's Kids. Additionally, Liberty Mutual donated $20,000 to The University of Alabama National Alumni Association.

Greg McElroy and Mike Johnson served as captains of the Crimson team and Rolando McClain, Javier Arenas and Lorenzo Washington for the White team.

Prior to the A-Day Game, former Alabama players played a flag football game. The team coached by Major Ogilvie defeated the team coached by Bob Baumhower, 30-6. Former offensive tackle David "Hoss" Johnson was named MVP as he was the game's leading receiver. David Smith threw two touchdown passes, Steadman Shealy and Alan Gray one each.

BamaMag Top Stories