Alabama Gymnasts Given Recognition

The Alabama Gymnastics Team celebrated a season that included the Crimson Tide's sixth Southeastern Conference Championship, 24th NCAA Regional title and 11th top-2 NCAA Championship finish with its annual awards banquet hosted by The Medalist Club, Alabama's booster organization.

The event was held Saturday night at "The Zone" located in Bryant-Denny Stadium with more then 300 in attendance.

The Tide's captains, as voted by the team, junior Morgan Dennis and Ricki Lebegern were recognized.

Dennis was also honored for earning first-team All-America honors on the uneven bars as well as the SEC Vault Championship and the SEC and NCAA Northeast Regional Floor Exercise Championships.

Lebegern was honored as a first team All-America on the balance beam, second team All-American in the all-around and on the floor exercise as well as second team All-SEC. She was also recognized as the inaugural winner of the David DeSantis Community Service Award, named for the general manager of Tuscaloosa Toyota, who has been vital to the Tide's "Power of Pink" initiative.

A four-time All-America as a freshman, Ashley Priess earned first team honors on the balance beam and uneven bars and second team accolades in the all-around and on the floor exercise. She was also named second team All-SEC and freshman All-SEC and won the NCAA Northeast Regional All-Around and Balance Beam Championships. She was named the SEC Freshman of the Week a record five times.

Sophomore Kayla Hoffman, who came back at midyear after offseason shoulder surgery, won the NCAA Northeast Regional Vault and Uneven Bars Championships and was named Second Team All-SEC. Priess was joined on the Freshman All-SEC team by Geralen Stack-Eaton and Caitlin Sullivan while rookie Rachel Terry earned second team All-America honors on the vault.

Travis Illian, the team's strength and conditioning coach, was presented with the David Dutton Award, given when warranted to those who go above and beyond in the service of Alabama gymnastics. Junior Alyssa Chapman was presented with the Lewis Each Courage Award. The Pat Huet President's award was presented to Jack Goertz. Senior Ashley O'Neal was awarded the Medalist Club Postgraduate Scholarship.

BamaMag Top Stories