Alabama No. 2 Seed In SEC Tourney

Alabama is the number two seed in the Southeastern Conference Softball Tournament, which begins Thursday at Sherri Parker Lee Stadium in Knoxville. Bama is coming off a two-game sweep of the Tennessee Vols in that stadium.

Alabama, ranked third in the nation, is making its 13th consecutive appearance in the SEC Tournament. Coach Patrick Murphy's squad will open play at 1:30 p.m. EDT (12:30 central time) Thursday against No. 7 seed Arkansas.

Florida, ranked number one in the nation, is the number one seed and overall SEC regular season champion. Alabama was champion of the Western Division.

The championship game will be broadcast live on Sunday, May 9, on FS South and its regional networks at 1:30 p.m. EDT. It can also be heard on XM radio, channel 200.

The Gators clinched their second consecutive SEC title and will defend their tournament title when they take to the field Thursday. Western Division champions, the Alabama Crimson Tide, will make their 13th consecutive SEC tournament appearance, as the No. 2 seed.

Arkansas is one of two participating teams that did not make the tournament field last year. This is the Razorbacks' first appearance since 2006 and seventh overall. The Kentucky Wildcats are making their third overall appearance, first since 2001.

On Thursday, the No. 3 seed Georgia Bulldogs will open up the tournament against No. 6 seed Kentucky at 11 a.m. (EDT), followed by Alabama and No. 7 seed Arkansas. The evening session will feature Florida vs. No. 8 seed Auburn, which clinched a berth Saturday night with a win over LSU, at 5 p.m. (EDT) and the host school, No. 5 seed Tennessee, will take on No.4 seed LSU in the nightcap at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets for the single-elimination tournament can be purchased through the Tennessee Lady Vols Athletic Ticket Office.

BamaMag Top Stories