Notes On Bama Baseball Going To SEC

It wasn't the greatest of weekends for an Alabama baseball team that has been spectacular in recent weeks. Alabama lost the first two games at Auburn before rallying to romp the Tigers in the final game. Bama now moves to the Southeastern Conference Tournament. Here are Bama baseball notes:

Alabama (37-17, 18-11 SEC) concludes the 2009 regular-season having won nine of its last 11 games. Since April 1, the Crimson Tide posted a 20-7 record in its last 27 games. The Crimson Tide won six SEC series this season, including four at home and two on the road.

The Crimson Tide has won the last six series' finales with Auburn, dating back to 2004. Alabama has outscored Auburn 81-24 in those six games and scored double figures five times. The six-game winning streak includes a 19-0 win in 2004, 11-9 win 2005, 9-1 in 2006, 12-4 in 2007, 17-7 in 2008 and 13-3 in 2009.

Senior right fielder Kent Matthes (Orlando, Fla.) tied the Alabama single-season home run record with his 27th home run of the season to lead off the second inning. Matthes shares the record with former two-time All-American Doug Dukes, who swatted 27 home runs in 1986.

Junior third baseman Jake Smith (Shannon, Ala.) went 4-for-4 with two run scored and five RBI in the series finale. He hit a two-run home run in the Tide's three-run second inning and added a two-run single in the three-run third inning. Smith had four hits and knocked in five runs after promising his mother, Denise Tibbs, a three-hit game for her birthday, which was Saturday.

Junior utility man Brandon May (Marietta, Ga.) had two hits, two runs and one RBI in the series finale. He collected his 200th career hit in the series opener and now has 99 career SEC hits for the Tide..

Senior catcher Vin DiFazio (Hampton, N.J.) had three hits, scored two runs and one RBI in the win. DiFazio also had two doubles in the game.

The 2009 SEC Tournament field has been set. The tournament begins Wednesday at Regions Park in Hoover. The tournament lid-lifter features No. 2 seed Florida against No. 7 Arkansas, at 10 a.m., followed by No. 3 Mississippi and No. 6 Georgia, at 1:30 p.m. The night session features No. 1 LSU and No. 8 Vanderbilt (lost all three games at home to Tennessee but clinched last tournament spot with two losses by Kentucky this weekend) at 5 p.m. and No. 4 Alabama and No. 5 South Carolina at 8:30 p.m. LSU and Mississippi are the 2009 SEC co-champions. It was the Rebels first SEC regular season title since 1977.

BamaMag Top Stories