More Watch Lists Add Tide Players

A trio of Alabama football players – junior quarterback Greg McElroy, sophomore running back Mark Ingram and senior cornerback/return specialist Javier Arenas – were added to a pair of 2009 watch lists, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

Greg McElroy and Mark Ingram were added the watch list for the 73rd Maxwell Award, which is presented to the best player in college football. Javier Arenas was added to the watch list for the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award, which is given annually to the best defensive player in college football.

McElroy has completed 78-of-119 passes (66.5 percent) for 1,086 yards and nine touchdowns and one interception. He ranks sixth nationally with a 165.48 efficiency rating. He threw for a career-high 291 yards and three touchdowns in the 35-7 win over Arkansas on Sept. 26. McElroy also set UA passing records for most consecutive completions (14 vs. FIU and North Texas) and highest completion percentage (13-of-15, 86.7 percent vs. North Texas) this season.

Ingram is the Crimson Tide's leading rusher with 487 yards on 83 attempts this season. He averages 5.9 yards per carry and 97.5 yards per game. Ingram ranks fourth in the SEC in rushing after five games. The Flint, Mich., native leads the SEC with nine touchdowns and six rushing touchdowns this season.

Arenas is the Tide's third-leading tackler with 26 stops this season. He has also recorded four TFLs (-35 yards), three sacks (-31 yards) and two pass breakups. He had a season-high eight tackles last week against Kentucky and recorded two sacks in the win over Arkansas on Sept. 26.

With Thursday's announcement, Alabama now has nine players named to 12 different watch lists this season. The complete list includes:

Senior cornerback Javier Arenas – Chuck Bednarik (defensive player of the year), Bronko Nagurski Award (defensive player of the year) and Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back).

Senior nose guard Terrence Cody - Bednarik Award, Lombardi Trophy (top lineman or linebacker), Lott Trophy (best defensive player), Nagurski Award and Outland Trophy (top interior lineman).

Sophomore linebacker Dont'a Hightower – Dick Butkus Award (top linebacker) and Lombardi Trophy

Sophomore running back Mark Ingram – Doak Walker Award (best running back) and Maxwell Trophy (player of the year).

Senior offensive lineman Mike Johnson – Lombardi Trophy and Outland Trophy.

Sophomore wide receiver Julio Jones – Biletnikoff Award (best receiver) and Maxwell Trophy (player of the year).

Junior linebacker Rolando McClain – Chuck Bednarik Award, Dick Butkus Award, Lombardi Trophy, Lott Trophy and Bronko Nagurski Award.

Junior quarterback Greg McElroy – Maxwell Trophy

Senior kicker Leigh Tiffin – Lou Groza Award (top kicker).

BamaMag Top Stories