30-year anniversary team announced

In recognition of its 30th Anniversary, the Birmingham Tip-Off Club has announced a 30-Year Anniversary Team consisting of the top 30 outstanding men's and women's basketball players over the last 30 years from the State of Alabama. <br><br>The University of Alabama led the list with 11 selections.

Gerald Wallace, who played one season for the Tide before entering the NBA draft, was also chosen. But his selection was based on his high school performance.

The Tip-Off Club, recognized annually for presenting the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year award, as well as the Conference USA Coach of the Year award, unveiled the team at its meeting on Monday.

The players selected to the 30-year team were chosen based on their basketball performance in high school and/or college in the State of Alabama and the impact they had on the game of basketball in the State.

Joe Dean, Jr., president of the Birmingham Tip-Off Club, said the team is a showcase of the tremendous talent which has passed through the collegiate and high school programs in Alabama. "The level of talent in this State has been one of the most impressive in the country. It was difficult to select only 30 members to this team, but those who were selected are certainly recognized as all-time greats, not just in Alabama but nationwide," said Dean, Jr.

The players selected were chosen by a committee consisting of Tip-Off Club board members and the media. The committee chose the players from a list of nominations submitted by the sports information directors from Alabama 4-year colleges and high school coaches.

The members of the 30-year anniversary team are as follows:

Charles Cleveland - University of Alabama, Leon Douglas - University of Alabama, T.R. Dunn - University of Alabama, Robert Horry - University of Alabama, Bobby Lee Hurt - University of Alabama, Buck Johnson - University of Alabama, Reginald King - University of Alabama, Derrick McKey - University of Alabama, Eddie Phillips - University of Alabama, Ennis Whatley - University of Alabama, Yolanda Watkins - University of Alabama, Charles Barkley - Auburn University, Eddie Johnson - Auburn University, Mike Mitchell - Auburn University, Chris Morris - Auburn University, Chuck Person - Auburn University, Wesley Person - Auburn University, Chris Porter - Auburn University, Doc Robinson - Auburn University, Andy Kennedy - UAB, Jerome Mincy - UAB, Steve Mitchell - UAB, Oliver Robinson - UAB, Deanna Jackson - UAB, Craig Beard - Samford University, Terry Catledge - University of South Alabama, Ed Rains - University of South Alabama, Andrew Toney - Glenn High School and Gerald Wallace - Childersburg High School.

The Birmingham Tip-Off Club has a membership of close to 275 members and is recognized not just for the SEC and Conference USA Coach of the Year awards but also for its development and involvement in the Alabama State High School Basketball Championships. The Club meets every Monday beginning in January through mid-March. Those interested in membership in the Club can contact the Tip-Off Club office at (205) 322-HOOP (4667).

BamaMag Top Stories