Tide Leads SEC Coaches' Team

Alabama placed a league-best eight men on the first team All-Southeastern Conference football team as selected by the coaches. Bama had two of the league's three unanimous selections.

The 2009 Southeastern Conference Champion Alabama football team placed nine players on the 2009 All-SEC Coaches' Football Team. Florida also placed nine total first and second team picks.

The Crimson Tide had two of three unanimous All-SEC picks in junior linebacker and 2009 Butkus Award winner Rolando McClain and sophomore running back and Heisman Trophy finalist Mark Ingram. Florida senior quarterback Tim Tebow was the other unanimous selection.

Alabama senior Javier Arenas was a first-team All-SEC selection at two positions. He was selected at cornerback after recording 66 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, five sacks, four pass breakups and three interceptions this season. He was also honored as a return specialist, where he accumulated more than 1,000 return yards and one touchdown this season. The Tampa, Fla., native is also the SEC's all-time leader with 1,733 career punt return yards, which leaves him 28 yards shy of Wes Welker's NCAA career punt return record.

The Crimson Tide's other first-team selections include senior offensive guard Mike Johnson, senior nose guard Terrence Cody, sophomore safety Mark Barron and senior kicker Leigh Tiffin.

Sophomore wide receiver Julio Jones was a second team All-SEC selection. Jones was the Tide's leading receiver with 42 catches for 573 yards and four touchdowns this season.

BamaMag Top Stories