Saban Candidate For Two Awards

Alabama Coach Nick Saban likely is not concerned with individual awards. His place in history is set, having already been named national coach on the year at two different colleges. He was selected last year at Alabama.

But while Nick Saban is preparing the Alabama Crimson Tide for its national championship contest against Texas, the Bama coach could also be making sure his tux is pressed.

Saban is a candidate for two national coach of the year awards. And he is the defending winner of both.

He is a finalist for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award (fans can vote on this award, which includes cash awards to the coach's charity and his university) and the Football Writers Association of America Eddie Robinson Award.

Saban has tough competition.

For the Mutual award, which is in its fourth year, Saban joins Mack Brown (University of Texas), Pete Carroll (USC), Al Golden (Temple University), Kirk Ferentz (University of Iowa), Paul Johnson (Georgia Tech), Brian Kelly (University of Cincinnati), Joe Paterno (Penn State University), Gary Patterson (TCU) and Dabo Swinney (Clemson University).

For the Football Writers Eddie Robinson Award, Saban is joined by Texas coach Mack Brown, Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson, Cincinnati's Brian Kelly, Oregon's Chip Kelly, TCU's Gary Patterson and Boise State's Chris Petersen on his year's list.

The winner of the 2009 Liberty Mutual award will receive a $50,000 contribution to the charity of his choice, plus a $20,000 contribution to the school's alumni association for student scholarships and activities.  The winner will be announced January 6, 2010, in Los Angeles, in advance of the BCS Championship Game.  

Alabama fans are encouraged to vote for Coach Saban online at from Dec. 15-29.  The fan vote constitutes 20 percent of the coach's final score.  

"Many passionate fans came out to vote for Coach Saban because he embodies the college football spirit and the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year values," said Greg Gordon, senior vice president of Consumer Marketing at Liberty Mutual. "Coach Saban has made a great impact on the lives of his student athletes and his community and we are proud to recognize him as a Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalist."  

Saban won the 2008 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year and donated his winnings to Nick's Kids Fund, a charity he and his wife Terry began when they were at Michigan State.  Since their arrival in Tuscaloosa, the Saban's have raised more than one million dollars for the Nick's Kids Fund, which has been distributed to numerous schools, agencies and organizations in Tuscaloosa County and the state of Alabama.  

Saban was named the 2009 SEC Coach of the Year by the league's 12 head coaches and the Associated Press earlier this week, after leading the Crimson Tide to a 13-0 record and the school's 22nd SEC championship and a berth in the BCS National Championship Game against Texas on January 7, 2010 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena.  

In three years at Alabama, Saban has compiled a 32-8 (.800) overall record and has led the Tide to back-to-back SEC Western Division titles. The Crimson Tide has won 26 of its last 28 games, dating back to the 2007 season.   

Launched in 2006, Liberty Mutual created the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award to celebrate responsible coaching because it is one of the clearest examples of a positive influence on young people, their families and entire communities.  Past winners include 2006 – Greg Schiano (Rutgers); 2007 – Ron Zook (Illinois), Jerry Kill (Southern Illinois), Bill O'Boyle (Chadron State) and John Gagliardi (Saint John's); 2008 – Nick Saban (Alabama), Mickey Matthews (James Madison), Chuck Broyles (Pittsburg State) and Larry Kehres (Mount Union).

Alabama head football coach Nick Saban is one of seven finalists for the 2009 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced Wednesday..  

  Five of the head coaches listed as finalists for the Robinson Award have led their teams to an undefeated season and four of the finalists will go head-to-head in post-season bowl games, when No. 1 ranked Alabama will play No. 2 Texas in the BCS National Championship Game on Thursday, Jan. 7, 2010 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., and Boise State and TCU will square off in the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 5.

   Saban was named the 2009 Associated Press SEC Coach of the Year earlier this week; marking the third time in his career (2003, 2008 and 2009) he has won that honor.   

Of the finalists, only Saban has previously won the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. He won it last season after leading the Crimson Tide to a 12-2 overall record and SEC Western Division Championship.  He also won the award at LSU in 2003.

The FWAA coaching award is named after the late Eddie Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach in the history of college football.  The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award will be announced and honored at a reception on Jan. 5 in Newport Beach, Calif., in conjunction with the Citi BCS National Championship Game.

BamaMag Top Stories