Softball Watch List Includes Two Tiders

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. – The Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), the national governing body of softball in the United States, has selected its initial "Watch List" for the ninth annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award and two Crimson Tide stars are included.

Alabama senior Charlotte Morgan (Moreno Valley, Calif.) and junior Kelsi Dunne (Port Orange, Fla.) have been named to the list of 50. It is the second year in a row that the duo has been named to the watch list.

This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Past winners of this award include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee's Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher and 2009 winner Washington pitcher/hitter Danielle Lawrie.

The 2010 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 35 schools and 14 different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list includes 27 seniors, 17 juniors and six sophomores.

The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 7. A player does not have to appear on this initial watch list to be considered as a top 25 finalist. However, once the top 25 finalists are named the winner of the award will come from that list.

Morgan was one of 10 finalists for the award last season and Dunne was named one of the 25 finalists. Both are coming off of stellar 2009 campaigns where they went on to earn NFCA first-team All-American honors.

No. 2 Alabama will open the 2010 season against No. 9 Missouri. The two teams will meet for a doubleheader on Saturday, Feb. 13 and wrap up the series on Sunday, Feb. 14. All three games will be played at the Alabama Softball Complex.

BamaMag Top Stories