SEC Football Key Spring Dates

When Alabama has its spring football game on April 17, the Crimson Tide will be one of just five Southeastern Conference football teams having its public spring scrimmage that day. Alabama's game will begin at 2 p.m. CST from Bryant-Denny Stadium and, unlike the other SEC teams, the Crimson Tide will also be available for nationwide viewing on ESPN.

Alabama's Bryant-Denny Stadium is still a few months from completion of the expansion and renovation that will take capacity to over 101,000, and the construction has lowered capacity slightly from the 92,138 that packed in for a national record for a spring game in 2008. Nevertheless, the Crimson Tide should have a nice crowd.

Crimson Tide Coach Nick Saban has a number of crucial positions to fill as Bama prepares to repeat as SEC Champion and National Champion.

Also having spring games on Saturday, April 17, will be Auburn (which will have another day of spring practice on April 19), Ole Mioss, Mississioppi State, and Tennessee.

LSU started spring practice on February 26 and will have its spring game on March 27. Arkansas and Kentucky won't even begin spring practice until after LSU is finished, and Ole Miss opens spring training on the same day as the LSU spring game. Arkansas will start practice March 30 and Kentucky will begin March 31, and both will have games April 24.

Alabama begins spring practice March 12, then The University has its spring break so the second practice is not until March 22.

As for the other teams with games on April 17, Auburn begins practice March 24, Mississippi State March 23, and Tennessee March 18.

Four teams have spring games on April 10 with Florida starting practice March 17, Georgia March 4, South Carolina March 16, and Vanderbilt March 17.

BamaMag Top Stories